Preamp for attic antenna?

Discussion in 'Digital Over the Air Television Talk By RabbitEars' started by dishdude, Jan 1, 2017.

  1. dishdude

    dishdude Topic StarterGod
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    5,229
    Likes Received:
    4,261
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I have a Channel Master Stealthtenna 50 in my attic connected to a Dish 612. I am receiving all channels with signal strength in the 70s, but on occasion one channel will pixelate and break up. I also lose signal during inclement weather. I was thinking of adding a preamp - something like the Titan CM-7778.

    Think this will give me the little boost I need? Are there any other good preamps out there?
     
  2. fred555

    fred555Pub Member
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Posts:
    7,498
    Likes Received:
    6,287
    Location:
    77W
    First submit and post the graphic of a tvfool report:

    http://www.tvfool.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=13&Itemid=1

    The best way to get a true and accurate picture of your situation, thus a good answer from the
    fine folks here.
     
  3. dishdude

    dishdude Topic StarterGod
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    5,229
    Likes Received:
    4,261
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    KPNX is the one that give me the most trouble. The rest I get a reliable signal on.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. boba

    bobaSatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Posts:
    10,573
    Likes Received:
    409
    Location:
    Dorchester, TX.
    Try it you might like it.
     
  5. fred555

    fred555Pub Member
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Posts:
    7,498
    Likes Received:
    6,287
    Location:
    77W
    I don't really see a smoking gun in the TV Fool as is usually seen around here.

    The CM-7778 may probably be a better choice than the CM-7777 given your chart,
    the CM-7777 could have too much gain for some scenarios.
     
    #5 fred555, Jan 1, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2017
    comfortably_numb and dishdude like this.
  6. dishdude

    dishdude Topic StarterGod
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    5,229
    Likes Received:
    4,261
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I know the correct solution is to move the antenna to the roof, but trying to avoid that. The high gain amp was my concern, I didn't want to overload the signal.
     
    fred555 likes this.
  7. boba

    bobaSatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Posts:
    10,573
    Likes Received:
    409
    Location:
    Dorchester, TX.
    KPNX is the weakest station but not much different from your other stations, it is probably on the threshold for your location. I don't really like that Channel Master antenna but adding an amplifier is an easy cure if it works.
     
  8. Comptech

    ComptechSatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,401
    Likes Received:
    1,062
    Location:
    Travelers Rest SC
    The 7778 is your best choice. I live in a area where my ABC is hard to get. The only amp that works without drowning out other channels is the 7778.
     
    fred555 likes this.
  9. waylew

    waylewSatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Posts:
    2,037
    Likes Received:
    541
    Location:
    northern new york
    Rat Shak sells a preamp with variable gain,while I can't attest to their current quality,I've never had any problems with their stuff in the past.In fact I have one in use that's been out there 10 or 15 years now.
    There's also the RCA TVpramp1z(I think) that seems to work well,not variable tho.If you experience overloading you could pad it down with a splitter(-3.5db) or two,or a tap,they come in different -db ratings,or a barrel attenuator.
     
  10. babnmn

    babnmnSatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Arizona
    Is your antenna aimed at south mountain ? I'm in Mesa . I know attics can be a pain to point in ..
     
  11. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numbSatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    960
    Likes Received:
    357
    Location:
    MO/KS
    I have the TVPRAMP1Z and it works extremely well, but I'm in a deep fringe area (50 miles from towers). Might be too much gain for your application. You can usually find it for about $20 though at Menards or Lowe's


    Sent from my iPhone using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  12. dishdude

    dishdude Topic StarterGod
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    5,229
    Likes Received:
    4,261
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Sure is. I think my biggest issue is the terracotta roof and stucco it's going through.
     
  13. boba

    bobaSatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Posts:
    10,573
    Likes Received:
    409
    Location:
    Dorchester, TX.
    Yes that will definitely cause signal loss. With that additional information I would definitely add amplification.
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  14. Nascarken 91xg

    Nascarken 91xgSatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Posts:
    113
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Southbrige mass
    J



























    I receive channel's 80 Miles out antenna high is 90Ft,AGL,10 69.1 in ct state zip 01150 ,
    HI VHF 17,CHANNEL'S UHF,91XG,X2, =29CHANNELS ,HAVE NOT HOOKED UP LOW VHF YET
    Johann son amp vhf 35db UHF,25/40db 24votls $65+sh noise 3,5 /VHF,35:DB UHF/,UHF,BOTH ARE 35:DB,TO40:DB $80+SH THE picture IS 20XBETTER OVER THE CHANNEL MASTER 7778&7777
     
All Posts / Content © 2003 - 2016 SatelliteGuys.US - All Rights Reserved
Creative Commons License
All Trademarks, Trade names and Registered Trademarks are property of their respective companies.

Sucuri
VigLink badge