Questions on Wiring a Voom+DTV+OTA System

angusdavis

Original poster
Aug 10, 2004
Hello,
I am moving to a new home and want to keep my current DirecTV service, receive OTA ATSC, and get Voom. I am not an expert at multiplexers, diplexers, 5x8s, etc., but I think I understand the basic concepts. Since this is a retrofit installation, my main concern is reducing the number of wires.

I think I end up with three pieces of hardware on the roof:
1. Big new Voom dish, capable of receiving AMC-6 satellite come October;
2. Whatever DirecTV dish is required to get me all the LNBs I can possibly ever need (I believe the largest is a 3-LNB system?)
3. OTA antenna for UHF DTV and FM, probably the ChannnelMaster Stealth 3010 or a similar product from Terk (I am less than 15 miles from all three networks)

HOW TO WIRE FROM THE ROOF?
I need to get the signals from all these LNBs and anntanae into my central wiring closet somehow. That is the first problem and my question is -- how will this work? Is there a way to do it such that I can get everything from the roof to the closet using just two RG6 cables, or will I need more cables? I also want the option of amplifying the OTA antenna, so I will need compatible multiswitches, or the option of putting an amp in the attic closer to the antenna than the wiring closet. I suppose the cleanest solution would be one that allowed me to amplify and distribute the OTA antenna feed before it was diplexed into the two DBS head-end feeds.?

HOW TO DISTRIBUTE FROM THE CLOSET?