Siriusly Swooshy

TNGTony

Unashamed Bengal Fan
Original poster
Sep 7, 2003
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Sorry if this has been posted before. I think I posted something similar about a rental vehicle I had in December, but didn't find it.

I am new to Sirius. I have listened to Sirius only through Dish until last month. Thanks to a driver who decided to remodel the back of my old car with an imprint of his grill, I had to get myself a newer vehicle. I ended up getting a newer version of the car I was replacing and it came with a Sirius radio. (Jeep).
I happened to get the car just before the "free preview" in February so I got to listen a little. I was not impressed with the sound quality of the music channels. They all seem really "swooshy". Essentially, I hear, very clearly the compression artifacts and sound degradation in the high end. The more brass there is in the music, the worse it seems to me.

When the free listening period ended, I though fine.... I don't need the low-fi sound anyway. The new radio has an aux jack so I started streaming I-Heart-Radio and thought that was at least as good and sometime better, but not by much. But then I was hit with the data cap on my plan I didn't know existed. (T-Mobile advertised heavily that music doesn't count towards the data totals. Well surprise, surprise... it's not for all plans, only certain plans).

So... faced with only FM and CD music, upping my phone plan so the data wouldn't be an issue, and getting Sirius, I decided to do the two month trial. When the music came back on, I heard the familiar swooshing and bad high frequency audio artifacts that make the music harsh. And the Radio channels that sound only mildly better than AM radio compressed to hell and back.

is the compression that bad? I have MP3s at 196mbps that sound better than the music channels!