Superstations pack picture edges cut off

Discussion in 'The DISH Forum' started by bradfordj, Dec 15, 2012.

  1. bradfordj

    bradfordj Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Watching a movie on WPIX and the edges are cut off. It appears Dish is using the HD feed for the Superstations pack which is in SD. If they're going to use the HD feed in SD it'd be nice if they kept it in the original size 16x9 (similar to the ESPN feeds) so the edges aren't cut off. This is happening on the other Superstations as well.

    When shows are in 4x3 it doesn't matter, but their newscasts, movies, and primetime programming are all in 16x9. Not to mention TV's are all in 16x9 by now.
     
    #1
  2. ScottChez

    ScottChez Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Posts:
    1,422
    Likes Received:
    7
    Dish is using the HD feed, I think you are right, that explains why the SD signal is so good.
    I know dish wont or cant give us an HD feed, but this SD feed sure is good.
    Now if they can just get the 16x9 right, it might be worth the couple extra dollars we pay for it.
    I still want the superstations in HD some day though . . .
     
    #2
  3. bradfordj

    bradfordj Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ya, you're right. And they need to switch their SD feeds to 16x9. It's frustrating watching the news, sports games and movies when text or people are cut off the screen. I know people at Dish read this stuff. Please fix the SD feeds to 16x9.
     
    #3
  4. Geronimo

    Geronimo Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Posts:
    9,941
    Likes Received:
    31
    I am not sure there is such a thing as an SD feed.
     
    #4
  5. bradfordj

    bradfordj Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Watching "Giants Access Blue" on WWOR 238 and it is in the correct 16x9 aspect ratio. I can actually see the entire picture. This is what the downconverted HD feeds should look like on the SD channels. Dish does it on the Fox and ESPN networks. They should do this with the others. Let's go people! :)
     
    #5
  6. satjay

    satjay SatelliteGuys Guru
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    10,405
    Likes Received:
    11
    Just wondering because I add and drop the superstations, is this recent with the PQ better? I currently don't sub to them right now but if PQ has improved recently I am re add
     
    #6
  7. Geronimo

    Geronimo Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Posts:
    9,941
    Likes Received:
    31
    The PQ ia no better. They are HD feeds (again I don't think there is an SD feed) but DISH shows them in SD with very little bandwidth.
     
    #7
  8. satjay

    satjay SatelliteGuys Guru
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    10,405
    Likes Received:
    11
    Thanks!
     
    #8
  9. KKlare

    KKlare SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,329
    Likes Received:
    7
    Would this work? A few months ago, KENM(3) was presented in "squeeze" format--the 16x9 compressed to an SD size. You then applied the fairly standard width stretch on most HD sets and you have a 16x9 without windowing. This was before the local PBS stations KNME(5) and KNMD(9) were in HD. True HD and not switching stretch are better, but when the B/W isn't there....

    I'm not sure what has gone wrong with those this week. Some are recording about as much data/disk space as the old OTA (MPEG-2) versions on Dish's nominally MPEG-4 signal. This means 6GB/hr now instead of 2GB/hr as of last week. I was trying to reduce the size of old recordings being repeated, Masterpiece and others. How do they get such data hogs through the satellite?

    -Ken
     
    #9
  10. bradfordj

    bradfordj Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    That'd work. As long as the screen doesn't get cut off.
     
    #10

Share This Page

VigLink badge
Sucuri