Umm am i doing something wrong?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

thetrixrabbit

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Mar 7, 2016
PA
Hello all , im a total NOOB when it comes to Satellite FTA systems, i seen a book about setting them up and i did a few internet searches and liked the idea.. OK so i got a decent setup, got a 39 inch Dish with a GT Ku-band twin HD LNBF and a DVB S2 Full HD box. But ok .. I can hit about 7 or 8 satellites around me, so far, the problem im running in to is, i aimed my dish towards G19, and yeah my sat finder seems to hit G17 and 19 but when i run a Blind scan, i get like 6 channels and thats it, and one of them is english =/ so am i not setting somthing right or something? G19 is programmed in to the box already, every sat that i hit i only get like 1-12 channels on them all. Is there something is need to set up or something im overlooking? I can blind scan on any pre-installed satellite and get the same channels on all of them, so im a i wrong that its really a point, scan, see what ya get type thing?? the LNB says its able to pick up all FTA signals. The thing i am lost on is what should i set my LMB to on the box? right now i have it set to 9750/10750, ive changed this and re-scanned and got the same results. Im just a bit lost and frustrated right now about it all. It seems im doing things right but im not getting much out of it. Any help would be great if you could..

Thank you all!

i just moved my dish a lil bit and hit a payed sat with 200 some channels, i think it must be 99.2 direct tv 11 spaceway 2, its the only thing close to that area thats payed that i can see on dishpointer.com

:welcome to SatelliteGuys thetrixrabbit !!!
Sounds like you are off to a good start, most guys that come here new to the hobby are saying they get nothing at first.
To start off with tell us more about your set-up. What brand of receiver and model number are you using...there are hundreds of them out there, some good some bad.