What is wrong with this picture? Need help figuring out problem.

scott78945

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Sep 18, 2005
Ok, here is my problem. My FOX is on channel 68 OTA. I was getting it with no problems up until 2 weeks ago. Then all of a sudden it was just gone. I confirmed with the engineer at the station that it is still available and working properly. My 622 cannot get a signal on it any longer. It doesn't even get a little signal. I get all my other locals with no problems so I am just confused at this point. I have a Channel Master 4228 antenna with a Radio Shack pre-amp at the pole and also one that I plug into before the cable goes into the Dish 622. I got both the Radio Shack ones in one package. Unsure if I need both but I have always used both. Can anyone figure out why I wouldn't get 68 all of a sudden? Is there something that I should try to replace? I am roughly 11 miles away from the FOX towers. Thanks all in advance.

I had a friend of mine confirm that his was working and it was. I just don't know where to go from here. :confused:

The issue can be a few things

-the power supply of the amp failed or no power is getting to the preamp

-if diplexed with satellite, there is an issue with that portion of the wiring. run a cable direct from the cm4228 direct to the tuner and test and disconnect the preamp and powersupply. The diplexors need to be of the power passing variety and properly installed (using the right ports if one is power passing).

diplexing can be troublesome.

ch 68 is high in frequency and attenuation is most noticeable there...especially if there is a wiring or an amp issue present.

diplexing attenuates at 2 places. at the antenna and at the tuner and that can starve the higher frequencies...ch 68.

if no power is getting to the amp or the amp is not functional, you should notice attenuation on the entire uhf band and will be most noticeable at ch 68.