1000.2 LNBF burning signal out meters?

instech

Original poster
Mar 7, 2009
mt
Anyone heard of the integrated LNBF on the 1000.2 dish kit running too much power and burning out signal meters? I'm a new installer and our co. is having us use a temporary dual LNBF centered on 119 to peak the dish and then taking that off and installing the integrated LNBF to activate the receiver. Obviously this requires more steps and time. If the integrated LNBF is running too much power for the some signal meters, does anyone know of a sat. identifying, self powered, signal meter that can handle that much power? Does anyone know how much power it's running and how much power the signal meters are capable of?

Thanks for any replies.

Sounds more like one of those "Urban Legends" than anything related to fact. I don't have a lot of first hand experience installing satellite dishes, but I do know that when a 1000.2 is installed around here it is assembled with the triple LNB and they go from there. No aligning and then swapping LNBs.

I guess you might get too much signal if you got too close to the sun.:eek:

How do you attach a dual lnb to the yoke of a 1000.2 dish. There is excessive current consumption with the 1000.2 lnb. It is recommended that power from a receiver is hooked up to the lnb when aligning it

How do you attach a dual lnb to the yoke of a 1000.2 dish. There is excessive current consumption with the 1000.2 lnb. It is recommended that power from a receiver is hooked up to the lnb when aligning it

you use a w bracket.

What you need is a Super Buddy meter. It will power the triple and test all three with one connection. DNS supplies them to the techs. They are not cheap, however, if you have to buy one.

no, not possible. there is no lnbf that has an internal power supply.. let alone draws SO MUCH POWER that it will burn out a meter. sounds like your company is trying to explain why they use old meters and why the keep breaking.