Aiming for IA5

Status
Please reply by conversation.

altadata

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jan 15, 2007
Hi
I'm new to FTA. I'd like to receive IA5 ( 97W ) in Ottawa.
For this a have a Fortec star 36inch, a Fortec Universal LNBF and a Viewsat ultra.
While trying to aim for IA5, I go to Menu->Antenna Setup and select Intelsat5.
I also select a strong TP freq ( 12177V).
What I'm getting sometimes is a Q signal going up and down from 0% to 61%.
I'm not sure what this is and what satellite is coming from. What should I do?
IS this because my LNB is Universal and not standard?
( I have no switches in the system ).
Thanks.

PS: I'd like to have a 22k switch later on. I think I should have a standard lnbf for this, right?

You can use either an Universal LNBF or a Standard LNBF to receive programming from IA5.

For the LNBF that you currently have, set the LNBF type to Universal 9750/10600 in the Antena set-up select Menu.

You can use either an Universal LNBF or a Standard LNBF to receive programming from IA5.

For the LNBF that you currently have, set the LNBF type to Universal 9750/10600 in the Antena set-up select Menu.

I already set "Universal" in the Antenna setup page.
Why am I getting a Q=0%-50%-0%-50% ( jumping between 0 and 50% )?
Does it mean I'm actually poining to other satellite, not the one I'm aiming for?

Thanks.

I already set "Universal" in the Antenna setup page.
Why am I getting a Q=0%-50%-0%-50% ( jumping between 0 and 50% )?
Does it mean I'm actually poining to other satellite, not the one I'm aiming for?

Thanks.

Does your receiver have the capability to blind scan ? If so , scann it and compare the channels to those listed on IA 5 ( and near by sats ) to those listed at lyngsat.com .

Wyr

Does your receiver have the capability to blind scan ? If so , scann it and compare the channels to those listed on IA 5 ( and near by sats ) to those listed at lyngsat.com .

Wyr

Yes, it has blind scan.
But what satellite should I blind scan?