Another reason to drop your Cable/Sat. Service, the Power Bill

Discussion in 'Cord Cutters Club (Internet TV)' started by theBruce, Jul 8, 2019.

  1. theBruce

    theBruce Topic Starter Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Posts:
    4,212
    Likes Received:
    3,121
    Awhile back the LA Times did a report about the power a cable TV DVR uses when idle. According to the report, for every hour that the DVR is not in use it consumes 35W of power. So, for every month that you do not even use it you pay $8 a month for the electricity it consumes. Now if you have multiple cable boxes in the house and actually use them to stream it could easily add up to over $20 a month. Over the course of a year a cable DVR just being idle will cost $96.

    In Comparison-
    • Roku Express uses 2.4W (typical) when streaming.
    • Roku Streaming Stick uses 3W (typical) when streaming.
    • Roku Ultra use 4.5W (typical) when streaming.
    According to the numbers from the LA Times, Roku uses 1/8th the power when in use versus the power a cable TV DVR uses when idle. With some of our readers reporting that their power bills dropped by $40 a month after ditching cable TV, you can see how that can really add up.

    Roku is not the only streaming device. There are DVRs for cord cutters also. So, we asked Tablo what its DVR uses, and Tablo let us know that the Tablo DVRs use 9.2 watts of power every hour when idle and 15 watts of power per hour when all four tuners are recording a show and one channel is being watched live. So, even when using your Tablo DVR you still only consume half the power an idle cable DVR needs.

    Cable TV Boxes Raise Your Power Bill by Almost $100 a Year - Cord Cutters News
     
  2. Juan

    Juan Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    22,984
    Likes Received:
    4,785
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
    So whats the difference between a cable dvr and standalone one?

    Sent from my SM-G950U using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  3. Foxbat

    Foxbat Addicted to new HW Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Posts:
    12,803
    Likes Received:
    4,705
    Location:
    Michiana
    The EE in me is cringing at the flagrant disregard of proper usage. The reported Roku devices usage is correct, but the DVR doesn't use 35W of power ever hour, it uses 35 Wh (Watt-hour). Likewise, the Tablo DVR uses 9.2 W at idle, no matter how long it's idle. In an hour of idle state, it will have consumed 9.2 Wh of power which is what (I almost said "watt" ;)) your power company is charging you for.
     
    KE4EST likes this.
  4. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014! Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    47,691
    Likes Received:
    12,699
    Location:
    Northern VA
    35*24*30*$0.13[KWh]~=$3.28 per month. VA rates, not CA rates.


    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys App. For now.
     
    TheKrell and ncted like this.
  5. ncted

    ncted SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    4,306
    Likes Received:
    2,887
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    0.35*24*30*$0.103~=$2.60 per month, NC rates. That said, I'd like to see more energy savings from these consumer devices.
     
    TheKrell and navychop like this.
  6. klang

    klang SatelliteGuys Master Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Posts:
    5,361
    Likes Received:
    2,335
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    As long as I can watch what I want, when I want, I don't care. :p
     
  7. Zookster

    Zookster SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    3,592
    Likes Received:
    542
    Location:
    Here and Now
    But how much energy does Roku devices use while idle? It's always on, unless you unplug it between uses.
     
  8. ncted

    ncted SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    4,306
    Likes Received:
    2,887
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    Presumably less than when actively streaming. Either way, less than a traditional STB.
     
  9. Zookster

    Zookster SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    3,592
    Likes Received:
    542
    Location:
    Here and Now
    It's obviously less. I'm just curious whether it's worth disconnecting a Roku from power at the power strip when not in use since it doesn't need to be always on for recording purposes like a traditional STB -- another possible advantage.
     
  10. ncted

    ncted SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    4,306
    Likes Received:
    2,887
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    OK. I see. In my experience, it isn't worth it as automatic updates of the firmware and apps doesn't happen while idle. I did this with the Roku in my workout room, and it tended to be more unstable than if I just left it on all the time. I will hook my Kill A Watt up to my Ultra and see what it uses while idle tonight if I can remember.
     
    andy_horton and Zookster like this.
  11. Zookster

    Zookster SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    3,592
    Likes Received:
    542
    Location:
    Here and Now
    I have a Fire TV stick connected to a bedroom TV that I use only once or twice per month. It's always powered (warm to the touch), yet each time I use it, I still have to wait for it to go through some FW updating process lasting several minutes. No issues with my Rokus, of course.
     
  12. ncted

    ncted SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    4,306
    Likes Received:
    2,887
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    Do you have automatic updates enabled on the Firestick? Mine all update on their own pretty well, if not as seamlessly as Roku.
     
  13. Zookster

    Zookster SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    3,592
    Likes Received:
    542
    Location:
    Here and Now
    I don't see any settings for that. My first-gen stick seems to auto-update, but whenever I go to use my newer FireTV stick, I get the message, "Optimizing system storage and applications. This will take approximately 10 minutes" along with a progress bar. I just went into the settings menu and it does seem to have an update ready to install. This after waiting through that initial 10-minute process. The only other thing I can think of is, though the FireTV stick itself is plugged into a wall outlet, it's connected to an HDMI/optical digital converter, which is plugged into my TVs USB port. I can't be sure if that USB port stays powered when the TVs off, but both the stick and converter always feel warm to the touch.
     
  14. ncted

    ncted SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    4,306
    Likes Received:
    2,887
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    That message apparently can indicate you are not using the correct power adapter for the Firestick. If it isn't that, then a factory reset is recommended. I've never personally had this issue though.
     
    Zookster likes this.
  15. Zookster

    Zookster SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    3,592
    Likes Received:
    542
    Location:
    Here and Now
    Yep. After googling around a bit, I realized that might be the trouble. When I was setting up and testing the audio converter, I may have swapped my first-gen stick power adapter with the new one. Up to now, I had thought it was normal for a rarely used FTV stick to go through this updating/optimizing process. But it happens every time.
     
  16. ncted

    ncted SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    4,306
    Likes Received:
    2,887
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    Roku Ultra while streaming: 5 watts (or 4.5-5.4 watts as my Kill A Watt only reports whole numbers)
    Roku Ultra while idle: 4 watts (3.5-4.4 watts)

    I left it sitting idle for about 2 hours, with the TV off, and the usage didn't change from 4 watts.
     
    Jhon69 and Zookster like this.
  17. cypherstream

    cypherstream SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Posts:
    589
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    PA
    My Roku express turns off when the tv turns off. It’s powered by the TV’s USB port. No issues, it just takes 10 seconds to boot up.

    DVRs may fair better with SSD don’t you think? No spinning motors or moving arms.
     
    Jhon69 likes this.
  18. mwdxer1

    mwdxer1 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Posts:
    955
    Likes Received:
    766
    Location:
    Seaside Oregon
    Totally agree. Many items in a household uses power. Phone chargers, DVD Players, etc' That is unless you unplug everything. A few bucks a month to have the uses of a DVR, is well worth it for me. I have two, the one in the vip211k Dish receiver and the one in the Amazon Recast.
     
  19. ncted

    ncted SatelliteGuys Pro Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    4,306
    Likes Received:
    2,887
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    You'd think that, but not that much. Best I can figure, about 5 watts between the most power hungry DVR drive I could find (WD Purple 8TB) and a typical large capacity SSD: 8.6W vs. 3.7W. Those numbers are for writes, which a DVR would be doing all the time. Also, SSDs are a consumable item. They have a limited number of writes and then they stop being able to store data. Finally, an SSD that can be written to all day, every day, for years, in the 2TB size that is typical in DVRs costs about $400 each in bulk (Micron 5200 Max 1.92TB) compared to a 2TB spinning disk costing around $65 in bulk. The SSD would "wear out" before you could recover the extra up-front cost of the drive.
     
  20. andy_horton

    andy_horton SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Posts:
    883
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    Northwest Georgia
    It always also helps if you do leave it plugged in to unplug the unit 30 seconds to a minute..just like a modem and router..."declutters" and refreshes everything. Usually for me I try at least 1-2 times per week.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...