Any Alternatives to Satellite Ribbon Cable?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

jsattv

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jul 4, 2006
I'm setting up a C Band Dish and now the Local Distributor is quoting me $1.50 per foot for Satellite Ribbon Cable. (I need about 110 ft). The Dealer says the Sat Ribbon Cable gets cheaper ONLY if I order 500 feet or more!!

I already have spare runs of RG - 6 Cable. Are there any alternatives I could use for the 36 V Actuator and +6V, Pulse and GND wires? I am thinking I could run all the wires in a small flexible conduit from the back yard to the House? Besides the RG - 6 Cable(s) how many runs of #14 or #12 Wire would I need? Any replies would be appreciated.

pardon an answer from a novice here, and I stand to be corrected, -- but the old C-band I took out had two #14 and a five conductor #20 guage (I think -could have been 22) burglar alarm cable. This was an old system and I heard the new ones may need extra control for skew or elevation but I do not know. I will be watching for information, too. Burglar alarm cable comes in 5 or 8 conductor and is cheaper than most other cables; if you have conduit space, 2 - 5c. are cheaper than 1 - 8.

Hi Jsattv.

Here is an item similar to what I have used.

Lowes also sells a two strand direct burial cable I think it is #16 stranded wire. I use that for the 2 motor wires. They also have a 5 wire like the link above which is what I have used for the other 2 motor wires, and the 3 that go to the servo motor. The colors may not match, but it works fine. Sometimes Lowes doesn't have the exact thing I want, so I go to Home Depot.

You need a total of 7 wires besides the 2 coax wires.

Hope that helps,

Fred

Lowe's was my idea too, I bought some wire that was for sprinker systems I believe, and I think the wire for polarity motor turned out to be called thermostat control wire. Works fine.

Yea I was wondering about that