Anyone else with DVR lag issues?

Discussion in 'Cable and Fiber Providers' started by jeffincolo, Jan 29, 2007.

  1. jeffincolo

    jeffincolo Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,
    Do any of you have lag issues with the Comcast Motorola HD DVR? I have taken back 3 units all with the same problem. You key a command via the remote and the TV does not respond - you try again, again, again - then about 10 seconds later the damn thing performs all the commands at once. This is a real headache for me especially when FFWD through programs trying to stop ect. It really has me ready to switch back to Dish.

    Thanks,
    Jeff
     
  2. Bobby

    Bobby Publican
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    55,000
    Likes Received:
    8,374
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    This has been an ongoing problem with the Motorola software. Later revisions have made it better.
     
  3. HDFreud

    HDFreud SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Posts:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern, NJ
    My 6412 just started doing that. It was 80% full so I deleted some shows and still did it. Then it just went away and it started again last night. They must be testing something in our area. I'm in northern NJ.
     
  4. Rob O

    Rob O Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Posts:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N. Central MA
    My box has done this on and off since the day I got it. Its really frustrating. My box doesn't always catch the signal from the remote because of its location, so you have to aim the remote just right. So before you realize its actually the lag you might have punched in several commands. Then all hell breaks loose. Sometimes the box even freezes up. Its not the end of the world, but when you are in the middle of a show or game it really is annoying. I really wish they could work out all the bugs. My Dish DVR never had any hiccups, why is this so hard to figure out?
     
  5. berck

    berck SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Posts:
    829
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA (SF Bay Area)
    My box has done this from time to time. I've had two different versions of the firmware, and it will still do it. Not sure why, but it appears that its something you have to live with. I have a 3412
     
  6. jwonkee

    jwonkee New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Comcast Problems with DCT6412 III HD Tuner/DVR

    Living in the Sacramento region, I've been using 2 of these miserable devices for over a year and they both exhibit the exact same problems, despite both of them being replaced 3 times over the past 6 months. There are several blogs and threads throughout the web proving many, many other frustrated owners are facing the exact same problems. The infrared command "lag-time" problem and the "audio dropout" problem are widely experienced, yet Comcast either covers its eyes on the issues or is truly inept at troubleshooting. Either way, their field techs, when pressed hard, will admit that Comcast has directed them to merely swap out the units with used refurbished units that ultimately also exhibit the same problems. Comcast placates their customers this way because there is no firmware update available or real technical solution to otherwise fix this problem. Considering the expense of Comcast services and the lesser priced competing alternatives, any HD TV owner reliant on an HD signal is well advised to completely avoid Comcast and to use a service by one of the satellite carriers. Note: I have no fiduciary interest one way or the other and actually prefer cable because it is a more convenient method of serving all of the rooms in my home, however Comcast simply offers an experience in repeated (every 2 days or so) frustration that will put you over the edge and it isn't worth it. I have an engineering background and I am in the telecommunications field, so you can bet that I have exercised due diligence in trying to work out solutions with Comcast to this problem, or at least to get them to admit to the problem and demonstrate to me a timeline for resolving it. Comcast will do neither. If you ask for service credits, Comcast begrudgingly will comply, but not before forcing you to repeat technician visits and device replacements. Without looking at your account case history, Comcast reacts as if you are trying to cheat them any time you ask for a service credit. Meanwhile, you can expect to often not be able to change channels, pause, rewind, forward etc. without a lot of frustration that will nearly drive you to thow the remote through your new HD TV. Trust me. There's enough frustrations in life that the last thing you need is to be relaxing in front of the ball game to rewind that great pass reception, only to have the infrared command processor freeze up on you - but because you end up pressing a bunch of buttons trying to restore functionality, the DVR processes ALL OF THEM 2 minutes later in a batch where you end up on a different channel and now you can't go back to see the play you were trying to review. If you are a blood-pressure patient, Comcast and this piece-of-crap HD DVR will put you in the grave very early. It's just not worth it. Get DirectTV's DVR or if you want HD, spring the grand for Tivo's HD version.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...