Are there any reasons left to stay with Dish ?

waltinvt

Supporting Founder
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Feb 16, 2004
Vermont
Well I see "D" has just added Fox HD East & West. That means they have all the national networks in HD now except ABC and there're strong rumors that it's not too far around the corner. Dish has not only done nothing, they're not even talking about doing anything. In fact all they've said is no new HD until they go MEPG4, which by the way will make most of our receivers obsolete. So are we all in aggreement that "D" seems to have offically surpassed "D" for HD ?

Equipment ? I'm no expert but is there ANY Dish receiver that out shines anything "D" provides ? The Name Based Recording Dish promised appears to have been officially scraped. How long have the 811 & 921 been out and neither, as yet, work the way they were promised to. So are there any arguments that "E" has better, more reliable equipment than "D" ?

More analog locals ? That used to be one area where Dish had the edge for me (Vermont) but now "D" has them too. In fact, I'm not sure there are that many areas left that Dish provides them and "D" doesn't. So does "E" still have the edge here ?

I've been with Dish for almost 10 years and always had their top tier programming and latest receivers but I'm seeing the writting on the wall here and it isn't pretty.

I wish there was a way we (as a collective group) could force / convince Dish to make some positive changes here because I really DO NOT want to switch. So someone please convince me where I'm going wrong. I think the last straw for me is that Dish outright lied about being ready to launch the distant network HD channels as soon as the new legislation was passed. I was even personally lied to by Dish's Goverment Relations office in Washington when they were trying to drum up support for this bill last Summer.