dish reciever 311, 118/119 lnb and sw21 switch

madhat

Original poster
Jul 12, 2010
here & there
Hi,

I have a subscription to Welcome pkg and Internationals using a 311 reciever. I have 2 dishes -
33 inch dish with a dual lnb getting 118/119 and a 18 inch dish getting me 110.

I don't think the lnb's are Dish pro or anything. Seems to be the regular type. I am using a sw21 switch to connect the 2 cables from the 2 dishes and then to the reciever.

My problem here is that - The receiver recognises 118 and 110 and I get all the sub channels for that. But does not recognise 119. It says wrong sat in the installation area and also the check switch shows 118 -odd and 118 even then 110- odd and 110-even. Most or all of the Welcome pkg channels are in the 119.

Anybody know what the problem is here.

thanks

Is it a dishnetwork dish or some other dish?If there is no internal switches on the lnbs on the 33" dish then a sw21 isn't going to work.A picture would help tremendously.

it is not a dishnetwork dish. It is a generic brand dish and a generic lnb like CB2008a.
let me know if you need any other info. Thanks for the reply

it is not a dishnetwork dish. It is a generic brand dish and a generic lnb like CB2008a.
let me know if you need any other info. Thanks for the reply

You will need a different switch.I'm going on the assumption that those are legacy lnbs (ie not dish pro or dish pro plus) in that case you need an sw31 switch.It allows for 3 different sat inputs with one output.

here is an example..

Last edited:
thanks for the reply Teehar.

yes i don't think they are dish pro or dishproplus lnb's. the CB2008a lnb gives me 2 sats i.e 118 and 119 in just one lnb. So you say that if i remove the sw21 and add sw31 I should be ok here? I was really confused on what was wrong here. thanks for the clarification.