DPP 500 twin w/sep or DPP44?

AZCoronaDog

Original poster
Feb 25, 2005
Chandler, AZ
I'm a newbie to this forum site (my first post), but I did search for answers every way I could think of first. I've been reading posts for a couple of days now, and like most enthusiast forums, the knowledge base is astounding! I thought I knew a fair amount about satellite TV, but I've learned a whole lot more. Sorry for the long post, but I figured I might as well throw all my questions and thoughts out at once.

I currently have a Dish 500 dish with the DP 500 twin lnbf, (110 and 119)running a 510 and a 301. I'm planning to upgrade to a 522. I've done some research, so I know I have a couple of choices on how to support the extra tuner. (I want to buy the 522, and thanks to this site I know to check the numbers to be sure its not leased, stolen, etc.)

I'm debating whether to swap my DP 500 twin to a DPP 500 twin with a separator, or get a DPP 44 switch. I can also pretty easily run a additional cable to my receiver, so I could just go the cheapest route for now and retire the 301 in favor of the 522's TV2 output. However, even though I'm not ready to go HD, I'd like to make an intelligent decision on the assumption that I will eventually.

So my first question is, do I need more than the 110 and 119 satellites for HD in the Phoenix, AZ area? If so, do I need (or want?) one more satellite or two? If only one more, I still have a legacy single lnbf dish, that as I understand it I could upgrade to DP and just cascade through a DPP 500 twin. If I need two more, then it seems logical the DPP 44 is the only way to go. BTW - It's just my wife and I, so I don't see any need for more than two receivers (but one with dual tuners), especially with the TV2 option.