friggin' snow...

wad

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Dec 29, 2007
syracuse, ny
had a repair the other day......

hn9000, 1w, .74m antenna, with no sqf inside. so i put the terminal into repoint and headed out to the reflector. i put my dapt in line and had a receive sqf of 2-4. as i brushed off the snow and ice, i watched the sqf climb right up to 189. it needed no resquinting, so after flying thru the dapt, i went back in to give the customer the good news.....if it doesnt work after a snowstorm.....BRUSH IT OFF!

on a side note, im noticing that the ka is MUCH more sesative to snow build up than ku. i can honestly say that a ku would have been working with the amount of snow that accumulated on it. sorry i didnt grab a pic though. anyone else seeing this as well?

If this is your first winter as an installer, I can tell you from years of experience that it doesn't take much wet snow or slush or ice accumulation to kill a satellite connection - especially if it's allowed to collect on the feedhorn. Don't matter if we're talkin' Ka-band or Ku-.

Dry snow's a different animal though. The reflector - and even the feedhorn - can be completely obscured by inches of dry snow, with little or no effect on signal strength.

//greg//

no ive been at it for 8 years now, im VERY familiar with cold and snow. its obviously just the first with the ka, as it came out in what april? but all we get over here is the wet suff, lake effect off of ontario. im hearing similar stories from our techs though......snow KILLS the signal, like it never did on ku.

Well, no insult intended - but your observation makes sense if you have no experience with dry snow. But now I can't help but wonder if your complaint might be transmitter-related. Otherwise I can't imagine why there hasn't been a bigger howl from the (receive only) DirecTV customers on Spaceway 1 and 2

//greg//