Getting old shows from Hopper 3

Garrettkjr

Original poster
Jan 28, 2021
Atlanta, Georgia
Newbie here and I just discovered this forum. We have a Hopper 3 and DSL modem get knocked out by lightning this week. Hopper doesn’t power up at all, so I’m thinking the content on the hard drive is still there. I thought about putting the old hard drive into the new Hopper, then transferring the content to an external hard drive. Then putting the new hard drive back in the new Hopper and transferring the content into the new Hopper. Is there a better way to do this? And when I say better, I mean cheaper because once this is done, I don’t really need the extra space of an external hard drive. I’m not a computer guy with a bunch of hard drives laying around so I would have to buy a hard drive to perform this task. I’m in Hampton, Georgia (south of Atlanta) if anybody wants to loan me a hard drive. Time is of the essence since I have to send the old Hopper back in the next week or so.

The caveat to swapping the hard drives, even temporarily is that the drives have a tamper seal on them and they can tell if you have removed the drive and will charge you the full price of the unit if they feel you tampered with it.
If you can connect the old drive to the new DVR without physically removing any drives from their chassis, that might work.

I saw that tamper tape at first and thought I was sunk, but that tape is on the drive and the little chassis that holds the drive. So what I did was take the old drive out with the little chassis that it rides in, and the tape was not disturbed. I think the tape is to keep you from replacing the drive with one not from a Hopper. That means that you would have to remove the drive from that chassis, thereby disturbing the tamper tape.