"Goodbye 1984" - Motorola Super Bowl Ad

thousands of emotionless drones "enjoying" their Apple products. The whole thing is an obvious swipe at Apple for seemingly endorsing the very homogeny it waged war against in its Ridley Scott-directed Super Bowl commercial for the Macintosh back in 1984

Bring it on Moto.

I'm no expert on what works in TV ads, and I believe anyone who claims they are are frauds. We know better what doesn't work. I have produced several thousand TV 30 second ads and over 2500 half hour TV infomercials in the past 28 years in TV advertising and what I noticed is that not one ad that goes after the big boy on the block, pokes fun at the competition product, the competition philosophy, management, or even mentions the competition in a derogatory way ever accomplishes success for its own product. The ad that simply points out its own virtues, gets the most results.

A company has 30 seconds to get it's message out to create TOMA (Top Of Mind Awareness ) The more it spends trying to create a negative image of the competition, the less it has to create a positive image for its own product. Plus it assumes it IS creating a negative image when maybe the spot only works for those who are already the advertiser's fanboys.

The Xoom is a great product and will surely be a Galaxy Tab killer. It is top performing tablet with smooth, slick operation as I saw it first hand at CES. It's too bad what I saw in the teaser so far, roughly 2/3 of the total spot, shows nothing more than a 'me too' of what can be done on an ipad. I hope the remaining part of the spot will display what the Xoom does better.

Reading the comments after the spot - I think this guy gets it:

buddhistMonkey 3 hours ago