Hd Ota

Discussion in 'Over the Air TV By RabbitEars.Info' started by savethefamily, Jun 1, 2004.

  1. savethefamily

    savethefamily Topic Starter Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had an antenna installed when the house was built - I've got a great picture OTA... about the same as the DirecTV picture via satellite.

    I'm thinking of upgrading to HD with DirecTV (not Voom)... do I need a special antenna, or does it just need to get good reception?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. jimisham

    jimisham SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Posts:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    If your present antenna is a combination VHF/UHF antenna there should be no problem. Your local stations will be broadcasting HD on a different channel than their analog signal.
    But, at the present time, many stations broadcasting in HD are doing so, at much lower power than their analog signal.
    So you might have problems receiving a HD signal.
     
  3. savethefamily

    savethefamily Topic Starter Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    1) So besides having better reception (range), there is nothing special about a "HD antenna"?

    2) Without physically crawling up to the antenna (hard to do) - how can you tell if you've got a VHF/UHF antenna? :what

    Thanks! :bow
     
  4. beast37799

    beast37799 Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Posts:
    599
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    change to a uhf channel on your antenna then a vhf if u get both youll know
     
  5. boba

    boba SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Posts:
    11,295
    Likes Received:
    989
    Location:
    Dorchester, TX.
    VHF channels are 2-13 UHF channels are 14-69.
     
  6. slacker9876

    slacker9876 Professional Amatuer Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Posts:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    The FCC mandates the power levels at which stations transmit, it is 1000 watts for all stations (in Denver). It is based upon 73.622(f) which you can find all over thier site.
     
  7. savethefamily

    savethefamily Topic Starter Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so my current antenna is VHF/UHF, hopefully I wont need to upgrade to a different antenna.

    Problem is, if the HD broadcasts are significantly lower strength than the usual broadcasts - I may not know until something special is broadcast in HD (well after the installer leaves).

    I just checked the signal strength of my satellite - it was 83-84, but in slight rain. Is there a way to check your OTA antenna signal strength?

    Thanks for all the answers - this stuff is relatively new to me.
     
  8. Karl  City of Angels

    Karl City of Angels SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Posts:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seen your post in the Voom forum, good idea to go with DirecTV. You should get your HD ok as long as you get you current channels above 13 now.

    I was going to cancel Voom anyway but there addition of Devine cemented it for me. I have used DTV for years and just wish the selection was bigger with HD. But having said that HDNet movies are better than all the Voom so called originals. And its cheaper as well.
     
  9. Cyclone

    Cyclone Proud Stiff Member Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Maryland
    There is no such thing as a HDTV antenna, Only the Marketing departments of the Antenna companies will claim such a thing. Kinda like having an internet ready mouse.

    You have to check your location for what band (VHF vs UHF) your local broadcasters are broadcasting their local digital signals on. Most Digital broadcasts are on the UHF band. If all of them are UHF, then you would only need to concern yourself with a UHF antenna. Digital signals have great pictures, so you should be just fine.

    Also only digital tuners have built in signal meters (and not all of them to boot) and not analog. You should be able to receive Digital signals even if they are not yet showing HDTV programming.
     
  10. Hall

    Hall SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Posts:
    18,409
    Likes Received:
    3,194
    Location:
    Germantown OH
    That's nice to know... I've seen antennas at Walmart for less than $10 and some will say "UHF VHF HDTV" and I always questioned the "HD" part, thinking you had to spend $50+ for one....

    I'm 5.x miles from all the Dayton-area TV station's tower area (they're all in the same place, up on a hill). Assuming no obstructions, would a $10 antenna work ?? I'd likely mount it in the attic of my house (3rd story).
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...