help please!8 days to superbowl

redwingfan

Original poster
Jan 28, 2006
I am new to computer so searching has given me nothing but migranes.I have a 52" toshiba DLP tv and i run FTA stellite(i'm in canada). TV does not have hdtv receiver.What can I do to have hdtv picture.I have heard people talk about OTA receiver but i don't understand or know where i can buy one.Any suggestions on whatever you can tell me i need would be appreciated.thanks

If yout tv is hd ready you will need a set top box to receive hd ota transmissions. Your local tv stations will have to send the hd signal. you may be able to pick up a used voom box off of ebay but be sure the voom box is avtivated.

so you say i need a set top box.is that a receiver?and a antenna?where do you get that stuff?not sure is voom box a receiver?

Before spending a penny, do you even know if there is an HD station in your area broadcasting the Super Bowl? If not, you won't get it with the OTA receiver. You'll need a pay service available in Canada.

sure a voom box will work. Hopefully you're on the border and near a US city like seattle, detroit, or buffalo...

yes i am 2 miles from detroit.thats all i get are u.s stations except 1 but its really terrible.thanks for all the help.1 more thing,is the voom box better than a samsung or radio shack ota receiver?

It might give you a hassle because it was originally meant to work with voom, but it should work just fine to accomplish what you want. If you don't already have the voom box, i'd just get the cheapest thing you can find, and if that's a voom box, get that ;)