How exactly does blind scan work?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Test12345

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Mar 11, 2007
I just received a Neusat SP6000 from a forum member here (thanks squid!!), which is by far the most advanced receiver I have used (seriously thanks a ton for this opportunity squid :D) and it has blind scan. Well, it didn't have Galaxy 19 in the list (or any other names that Galaxy 19 used to be called), so I made a satellite named Galaxy 19.

I then went to blind scan (or blind search as its called here) and there were a few options (vertical/horizontal,etc) and I let it scan. To my surprise it found about 260 channels. My question is...HOW? There was no identifying information about Galaxy 19 at ALL. Does it just see what signal it receives and then adds it?

Sorry about these silly questions...i'm an extreme newbie and i'm a little amazed, haha. :)

Last edited:
the satellite at 97W has been called a few different names

The "most common original" was T5 or Telstar 5
Then Intelsat Americas bought them and it became IA5
Then Galaxy merged or bought them out and it became G25 (any sat that IA owned they just added a 2 in front)
Then Galaxy launched their own satellite and put it there (G19) and moved G25 elsewhere

last I checked there are about 260 video channels on 97W

I saw (on Wikipedia) it was called IA9, but not 5. I know the others ones, and i'm really familiar with Telstar 5 because our receiver was so old that it called 97W Telstar 5 LOL! :D

Thanks Iceberg, I'm at 260 right now with the blind scan! Good to get some confirmation.

My question is...HOW? There was no identifying information about Galaxy 19 at ALL. Does it just see what signal it receives and then adds it?
With blind scan the box doesn't care,or need to know, what the name of the sat is,it's just looking for whatever it can find.All it really needs to know is it's scanning C or Ku and that you set it correctly to do so.