LOCALS & DISTANTS

nrholland

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Nov 13, 2003
Tampa Bay Area
Here's an interesting idea I came up with; however, I'm not sure if it'd work or not. I'm not an expert from any stretch of the imagination, so I don't know if my idea is possible. Here it is:

Suppose the "MYTVRIGHTS" petition does some good and allows us to get locals from any market...the first problem would be how to make it so that someone in Seattle can watch locals from Charlotte. Right now that's not possible with the spot beams they use. Currently the only "locals" you could get would be the ones in your area (for example, I live in the Tampa DMA...I can get Orlando, Ft. Myers, Gainesville, West Palm Beach and (right on the line) Tallahassee and Jacksonville local).

However, since Dish has the Dishonline feature, would it be possible to receive them from the internet instead, such as a live stream and receive them to your set top box thru the internet instead of thru satellite. Is it possible? I have no idea if it can be done or not. But if it could, there's a way to do it.

On another note, hopefully the "mytvrights" petition will succeed to at least give us the right to have the distant nets if we choose or not instead of going thru all the waiver nonsense.

Any comments? I'd love to know.

Thanks.

If the law was changed and allowed customers to select their local channels, spot beams would be removed and all locals would again be conus. If you have internet you can view replays of most local channel's news broadcasts already. Most prime time shows can be viewed on network websites already (usually for a short time after the program is broadcast, but not live).

If the markets all went conus then over half of the markets would go away as there is not enough space up there. With spotbeams they can reuse transponders many times over to transmit signals to many areas of the country.