Lost all recordings on my DVR

Z

Zorlac

Thread Starter
SatelliteGuys Family
Jul 30, 2004
97
19
Iowa
I had only a few movies and TV shows on my 722k DVR, barely used any space. Anyway I noticed that all my recordings were gone. When I went to history I saw that "TV1 User deleted at 9:07pm). All items were deleted at 9:07pm. Is this symptomatic of an HD failure, and if so would it actually log something like that?

Is there some combination of buttons on the remote that somehow delete all recordings that I mistakenly hit. Or some nasty bug I encountered? Like I said I only had about a dozen recordings, but still not happy they are gone. Im the only one who uses the DVR and all my timers are my own.

If this is a sign of a failing 722k (nearly 2 years since I've had it and its been reliable since, any other problem was due to the dish/switch etc) should i buy an EHD or get a replacement/hopper upgrade? If this was a failure its bound to happen again right?
 
TheKrell

TheKrell

A mighty and noble race originating on Altair IV.
Pub Member / Supporter
Jan 4, 2007
34,149
29,683
Fairfax, VA
You should get an EHD anyhow, just in case. But I think you may have had an accident. Did you intentionally delete any programs at that time? It's easy to Select All and mark everything, rather than marking just the contents of one folder.
 
Z

Zorlac

Thread Starter
SatelliteGuys Family
Jul 30, 2004
97
19
Iowa
Nah, never had any folders of my own. Just 2 for South Park and Comedy Bang Bang. Everything else were movies. I did have a lock on the SP and CBB episodes too. I'll have to ask later today if the other members of the house may have used the DVR, but honestly Im the only one who uses the DVR. My timers are still intact if that means anything. Its just confusing that the history is so specific as to all the programs I had recorded listed as being deleted at a specific time. I would think if there was an HD failure it wouldnt log anything.

it did manage to record 2 shows I had in my timers tonight, its recording Top Gear rerun as I type and I've yet to encounter a glitch.
 
primestar31

primestar31

SatelliteGuys Master
Lifetime Supporter
Mar 15, 2005
11,028
8,323
Beta Omicron Delta III
If you went into a folder, selected ALL and then deleted, it'll also select all the saved programming outside that folder...

I've read about it here, but never had it happen to me as of yet as I always select files seperately for deletion.

Also, any chance you have a neighbor close enough that also has Dish, and using a UHF remote? If you've never changed the frequency of the uhf remote away from the default, his remote could reach your receiver. Then if he deleted all his programs, it could also select and delete yours.
 
Z

Zorlac

Thread Starter
SatelliteGuys Family
Jul 30, 2004
97
19
Iowa
Hmm. Well I did do a factory default reset a few days ago (saturday actually) because for some reason the picture was squeezed into 4:3 mode. Factory defaults fixed that problem. There is a house across from mine that has a dish, but I cant tell if its Dish or DirectTV. Theres also a Dish user 2 houses away from me.

As I said, the DVR would store the recorded items in the default manner. I.e. press DVR twice and movies and single TV shows would list in the window. 2 or more of the same show creates its own folder, i.e. my South Park and CBB series.

I count 6 steps in order to delete a program. I just dont really believe if there was a HD error it would actually log its deletion in History. Tomorrow noon someone's gonna have some 'splainin to do.
 
3HaloODST

3HaloODST

SatelliteGuys Master
Pub Member / Supporter
Jul 2, 2010
6,648
97
Earth
Ahh yes the old "selected all recordings EVERYWHERE when I meant to select just one folder" bug. The UI isn't very intuitive when it comes to that. On my 722k I always group by "My Groups," open the folder I want to delete FIRST, then hit EDIT while in that folder. This ensures that you do not select ALL RECORDINGS.
 
TheKrell

TheKrell

A mighty and noble race originating on Altair IV.
Pub Member / Supporter
Jan 4, 2007
34,149
29,683
Fairfax, VA
I really don't think your disk is going bad, for all the reasons you mentioned. I think somebody had an accident. Protecting a recording only protects it from automatic deletion when another recording starts up and the disk is otherwise full. It does not stop you (or anybody else) from deleting it.
 
primestar31

primestar31

SatelliteGuys Master
Lifetime Supporter
Mar 15, 2005
11,028
8,323
Beta Omicron Delta III
I really don't think your disk is going bad, for all the reasons you mentioned. I think somebody had an accident. Protecting a recording only protects it from automatic deletion when another recording starts up and the disk is otherwise full. It does not stop you (or anybody else) from deleting it.

That's true, but it WILL prompt for your password before it'll delete it, if it was protected.
 
KKlare

KKlare

SatelliteGuys Pro
Nov 18, 2003
2,397
14
Los Alamos, NM
There is no password to stop you from deleting that I have seen. Protect does not do it. Maybe if some parental control was on?
-Ken
 
n0qcu

n0qcu

Supporting Founder
Supporting Founder
Sep 7, 2003
4,938
1,537
Earth
There is no password to stop you from deleting that I have seen. Protect does not do it. Maybe if some parental control was on?
-Ken

Correct you must have the system locked to prevent erasure.

Sent from my iPhone
 
primestar31

primestar31

SatelliteGuys Master
Lifetime Supporter
Mar 15, 2005
11,028
8,323
Beta Omicron Delta III
Correct you must have the system locked to prevent erasure.

Sent from my iPhone

Ok, sorry. I do have my system locked, and it's hard for me to imagine that somebody doesn't have their systems locked. First time my wife got bored and started buying PPV's, that was it for me. Lock city! LOL.
 
3HaloODST

3HaloODST

SatelliteGuys Master
Pub Member / Supporter
Jul 2, 2010
6,648
97
Earth
Yeah, wish Hopper still had the password prompt when deleting protected recordings... At least there's a recycle bin.
 
Tampa8

Tampa8

Supporting Founder - I'll stand up and say so
Pub Member / Supporter
Lifetime Supporter
Sep 8, 2003
18,110
7,709
Tampa/Eastern Ct
Hmm. Well I did do a factory default reset a few days ago (saturday actually) because for some reason the picture was squeezed into 4:3 mode.

You shouldn't need to do a factory reset, nor would I. Simply unplugging the receiver, wait about 10 seconds or so and plug it back in will fix that occasional problem. (Called a Hard Reset) Also, do you know for sure those programs were still on the DVR after doing the factory reset?
 

Similar threads

T
Replies
3
Views
1K
upper 49th
U
J
Replies
6
Views
3K
csmwww
csmwww
C
Replies
10
Views
2K
Claude Greiner
Claude Greiner
O
Replies
11
Views
2K
Mike_H
Mike_H
Lt Disher
Replies
1
Views
636
Lt Disher
Lt Disher

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 0, Members: 0, Guests: 0)

Top