networking 722

tjd0107

Original poster
May 31, 2009
IN
Hi all newbie here and I have searched everywhere for answer to my ?. have 722 and trying to hook up to network. May not be the best at networking but have 2 laptops and a second computer on. Problem seems to be can't get ip address to receiver. tried reset connection more then once, reset 722, reset 2wire gateway. swapped cables. Have lights on gateway and receiver. Talked to dish network and att. have elite dsl. One problem is not sure how to setup dchp on windows vista home premium. thanks in advance for any help:D

Do I understand you've cabled up your receiver to the 2wire gateway, and the link lights for that port came on? If so, I imagine this is just a DHCP problem. (Wireless adds a whole boatload of new complications.)

The only thing on your network that should be offering IP addresses to DHCP clients is that gateway. Turn it off elsewhere.

vista home premium is your problem. Vista presents a nightmare of networking problems. You usually have to jump through a bunch of hoops, reboot, jump through hoops and reboot again to get it to work, maybe.

A short cut might be to enter your gateway (router) address in a browser address space and see if you have dhcp enabled. Also check MAC filters. If enabled, entered 722 MAC address. After checking, unplug 722, reboot router, wait 30 seconds and plug 722 back in.

To get around improperly configured computers, I'd recommend shutting down the computers temporarily until you've established a connection.

Make sure you have enough addresses available. Routers can usually be programmed to only offer up a small number of addresses and you may be running afoul of this artificial limitation.

vista home premium is your problem. Vista presents a nightmare of networking problems. You usually have to jump through a bunch of hoops, reboot, jump through hoops and reboot again to get it to work, maybe.