New Dish Network OTA Installation Question

chriswx

Original poster
Jul 12, 2010
CT
Hi There,

I am about to become a new Dish Network customer and had a question about OTA. First, I assume most of the boxes let you hook up an OTA antenna, is that correct? I would be getting a DVR Duo receiver. Also, if I purchase one of those antennas that snap onto the satellite dish, would the Dish Network installer be willing to hook up that antenna to the dish and run the cable down to my box? Or would this be considered an extra service? These may be silly questions, but I'm rather new to the whole satellite TV thing. I've had cable forever, but wanted to switch to Dish Network to save money.

Oh, last question, any recommendations on the best antenna to use for OTA? I saw this antenna on-line (the Trek DTV42). Would this fit the current Dish Network Satellite Dish? Here is a link to it. Seems reasonably priced. Terk DTV42 Antenna DBS Clip-on OTA Antenna for a 18" DirecTV dish

Thanks,

Dish Network Newbie

All the VIP series DVRs have ATSC tuners. Current SD DVRs do not. (You didn't mention which you intend to get.)

Ok... it is the RCVR 622/722 HD DUO DVR. I'm not sure if that gives you enough information, but that was cut was cut and pasted directly from the Dish Network order screen.

As far as installing your OTA antenna, I wouldn't count on it. From my perspective as an installer, I wouldn't want to take on the added responsibility of making sure that your OTA antenna works correctly, especially if it's not up to par for getting reception. Generally speaking, I don't mess with it if its not Dish Network related. It's hard enough keeping my stats in check as it is. Last thing I want is someone calling customer service to say that their OTA antenna channels aren't working and then I get dinged for it.