New To Satellite TV, Dish Network & This Community

apn73

Original poster
Jan 18, 2012
Goffstown (Manchvegas), NH
Hello All,
Total newbie to this whole experience, so new in fact that Dish Network is scheduled to do the install tomorrow. We finally got sick of Comcast, their crappy service and their insanely high pricing for so little. I am looking for advice on getting the very best performance out of this experience that I can and figured that you folks would probably be the ones to ask, the nice people over at hometheaterforum.com recommended that I post this here. For the time being I will be connecting an analog Sony Trinitron (main set in living room) and a small Phillips LCD that is located in the kitchen. It will probably be a year or more before I replace the analog set with a 1080p capable TV, is there a certain box (receiver) or dish that I should request from Dish? What equipment do you recommend? Are there changes/upgrades/modifications to cabling, etc., that I can do to improve it? Any advice that you can offer will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Adam.

Sounds like a 722 will do you fine, it will allow you to have HD on your main TV and SD on the TV in the kitchen. :)

:welcometo SatelliteGuys!

Your being installed in a day and you haven't figured out what receiver your getting? This should have been discussed when you set up the appointment. It's not like there is a choice when the tech gets there. It's all decided and listed on the work order.

Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys

Your being installed in a day and you haven't figured out what receiver your getting? This should have been discussed when you set up the appointment. It's not like there is a choice when the tech gets there. It's all decided and listed on the work order.

Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys
....and I was supposed to know this how? Thanks.