Pansast 2500 Smartscan How Does It Work?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

wxman1

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Oct 16, 2004
If I have confirmed a signal from an unknown satellite with my satfinder, will Smartscan scan the Ku frequencies and look for "live" transponders? (Almost sounds too good to be true.) If someone could explain how Smartscan works would appreciate it very much. I am a newbie at this and am having great difficulties trying to find a quality signal even though I am hitting all the"birds" with my satfinder. Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Blind search receivers sample the specified polarities, frequencies and symbol rates in steps. Once the presence of a signal is found it is logged then identified. Many blind search receivers allow the operator to adjust the parameters of the scan I.E. polarity, frequency range, symbol rate range, FTA / data / scrambled, etc.

I have a Pansat 2500A. Before I can do a SmartScan (blind search) must I have a quality signal or (b) if I know from a satellite finder I have a signal can I do a blind search (thinking of how some police scanners scan between two inputted frequencies and log active frequencies).

Its more productive to only scan where you have signal quality, but if you are close to where you think the satellite is let the blind scan do the work, let it scan away take a break come back and see what "you" have found, after you find a satellite and identify it store it and it will make the set up a little easier. Found a few satellite this way before I got a professional meter : )