RF Modulator Kills my CATV Signal When Used w. DISH

gilgul

Original poster
Nov 6, 2009
Las Vegas
I had Dish installed this past week and am having trouble finding an RF modulator that works properly. My regular CATV is through Cox Communication and I would like to add the DISH signal into the CATV signal.

I purchased 2 different RF Modulators (RadioShack & Fry's @ $20/pc) and on both I am having the same issue. The DISH signal works fine but the CATV shows at a very bad quality. Note that the CATV shows fine when I simply disconnect the DISH box. I added an amplifier on the CATV line before the modulator and picture improve but still is bad.

Is this a function of a low cost modulator? Can you suggest of a modulator that works?

I am by no means an expert on this, but I have some questions about your setup...

1) You have Dish AND Cox? Why?
2) You say you purchased two modulators, again why? The dish receivers come with built in Ch 3/4 modulator.
3) Regardless of which modulator you use, you need to put it on an unused channel, otherwise one signal will bleed into the other (ie: you modulate Dish on ch. 3 and use a simple splitter to combine it with the Cox signal. Whatever Cox puts on ch. 3 will cause the Dish signal to look bad. ) IIRC, you can take the Cox signal, put it to the "Antenna In" (NOT "Satellite In" on the Dish receiver, and then it puts out the signal on the appropriate channel. However, the receiver's modulator will generally blow out anything other than the Dish signal when the receiver is turned on.

You have to buy a filter that filters out a couple channels above and below the channel you are trying to modulate on. Channels that look like all snow are probably carrying a digital signal. You also have to be sure you are not feeding back into the cable system, if you do and it causes issues cox will disconnect you.