setup help

JamesJ

AKA Stuart628
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Jul 21, 2004
Akron (Cleveland), Oh
hey guys, I am new to dish network, I have a install date set for this saturday. I have searched in the forums, but I dont know what angle I want to look for on this. I am getting a 811 reciever for my downstairs, sony RPTV, and I am getting a 625 upstairs in our bedroom, I have dual Rg6 line ran upstairs to the bedroom. I have a single rg 6 run to the living room. I use to have directv, with 4 lines coming from the satellite, to the inside, now I am getting I am guessing (this is where you have to help tell me what equipment and what to do) a dish 500 system, that will look at 119, and 110, and also a second dish that will look at 61.5 (I have a local spanish channel on there that I had to have, even though the Cs tried to talk me out of it, and actually tried to sell me the second satellite for one hundred dollars for my voom programming) I dont know about any switches or anything like that they will need to install so your help would be apperciated in telling me what to expect. Also a little while ago, someone had either a chart or a picture showing where the satellites are located, so that way I can kinda eyeball my current satellite and try to figure out where the 61.5 is located so that way I make sure I can even get my voom programming. and my third and final question, what else should i do have set up that way I make sure the installer comes and has a nice smooth appointment, I like to make them work very little when they get to my house.

Basic install is one cable per tuner. A dual-tuner box like the 625 can share a cable using DishProPlus equipment - but you've already got two feed lines, so cool.

I'll assume you talked them into doing what they are suppsoed to, and that's give you the 61.5 wing dish for free.

If so, it's likely you'll get a DPP-Twin anyway. One feed to a DPP Separator mounted to the back of the 625, the other feed to the 811.