Thoroughly confused

mecdatlanta

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Oct 26, 2006
Hi Gang,

I apologize that I keep asking so many questions. I am new to this stuff and sometimes it seems as if you are all speaking Chinese. I thank you in advance for your patience.

Here is my situation at present:
  • I have a Dish 301 system with two dishes on my roof (the 2nd was added a couple of years ago for local programming). I live in Atlanta.
  • I have a slight preference for *C, but would be pretty much just as happy with BEV
  • I will install the system myself, since it seems difficult/costly to get a local installer and I imagine all I have to do is reposition the existing dish(es) (or new dish(es)), and replace the receiver
  • I have my mother who lives in Canada and is currently a *C subscriber
Here is where I need help:
  • Can someone direct me to a site that shows diagrams for both installations with components listed? It appears that two dishes are needed for BEV, but only one for *C. Is that accurate?
  • Can I use my existing dishes and connector if I go with BEV?
  • Where should I buy the equipment? What should I buy? Can I have it shipped here, or should it be shipped to my mother in Canada?
Thanks again for your help. I am excited about getting CDN programming here in Atlanta.

Don

equipment setup is exactly the same for BEV and Dish, except you need to point at 91 and 82 and of course use one of their branded receivers.

Getting Less Confused

Hi All:

I have pretty much decided to go with BEV. I already have the dishes installed and will only need to reposition. Also, I have found a used BEV 3100 that I can purchase for $50.