Wall Fish Custom work or Not?

pearldriver

Original poster
May 1, 2004
I am an installer for a Dishnetwork Contractor and am being told Wall fishes are free to the customer. I have been installing cable of sometype (cable TV, Direc Tv and now Dish Network) for about 3 1/2 years and have never been asked by an employer to do wall fishes for free.

My root question: Can anyone point me in the right direction to find out "Exactly" what Dish network definition of a standard installation consists of.
I have read the service agree, that all dishnetwork customers must sign. In regards to the cabling it just says "routing of cable through one wall peneration" ... In my mind that does not include a wall fish.

Any help on getting Offical documents from Echostar/Dish Netork would be extremely helpful.........

Mike500,

I am assuming you are an Dish Netowork installer. On what grounds are you using to charge a customer for wall fish? What "documention" are you using to support "your right" to charge the customer for a wall fish?

Or are you the type of person that that just smarts off in forums....

When my dish was installed I had all the wires go into the attic and the walls fished for free, of course I was with the installer and helping him the whole time and gave him money for lunch when he was done....

Not all customers are that kind or helpful.

I'll give an example of what I call custom work with a wall fish.

A customer already has a cable outlet in a room where they had been watching cable tv. They want me to remove outside line and move outlet to an internal wall so they can move their tv to that wall. After I have installed all the recievers and was only lacking activation of installed recievers. Now why in the heck used I be forced to conduct a wall fish for free and removed the other line.

I have never been forced by DirectV or Time Warner Cable to do a wall fish for free under in conditions.

Iceberg,