What is with the war on what cable to be used?

mr_tv

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Mar 5, 2010
Boise Idaho
I was a contractor Directv installer until our shop was let go by the local HSP. While working there, we could not use any copper clad steel to do installs. We had to re-wire the house. This was with the Perfect Vision coax. Often to the customers being grumpy about it. Now, as a Dish Network installer I CANNOT use the Perfect Vision wire that Directv had us use. We will get a fail on QC if we do. Is this normal for all Dish installs in your area, or is it just a local thing?

Goto the installer zone. Much better info for you there.

But to answer your question. Dish does not want Directv wire in their system. Yes it's stupid and it's not inforced in all areas.

Goto the installer zone. Much better info for you there.

But to answer your question. Dish does not want Directv wire in their system. Yes it's stupid and it's not inforced in all areas.

All we use is Perfect Vision around here and that's pretty much what Direct and some cable companies are using so it works out pretty good.

Is this because Direct uses their SWM (CSS-Channel Stacking Switch), while Dish uses its DishPro (BSS-Band Stacking Switch)? They are quite different and perhaps each is optimal with its particular cable spec. Not suggesting it wouldn't work with other cables, just that Dish and Direc TV have their preference of cable for the two different systems.

Is this because Direct uses their SWM (CSS-Channel Stacking Switch), while Dish uses its DishPro (BSS-Band Stacking Switch)? They are quite different and perhaps each is optimal with its particular cable spec. Not suggesting it wouldn't work with other cables, just that Dish and Direc TV have their preference of cable for the two different systems.

Don't know what the requirement for DirecTv, but Dish needs RG-6 swept to at least 2150 mhz (preferrably 3000 mhz).