20.0 IR Echostar remote help

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by Alan McDougle, Mar 5, 2011.

  1. Alan McDougle

    Alan McDougle Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying to get a RCA RT2760 Home Theater System to work with my Dish Network Remote. I have been through all the steps in the manual and even contacted Tech Support, as well as other post online. I was able to use the volume -/+, and mute with my old DirecTV remote. The power button would not work, but at least I could adjust the volume without getting up.

    The remote says 20.0 IR EchoStar Technologies on the back.
    Thanks
     
    #1
  2. boba

    boba SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Posts:
    9,559
    Likes Received:
    92
    Do you have the instructions for the 20.0 remote? Read the section on 2-way learning. Instructions are available on line if you need them.
     
    #2
  3. KAB

    KAB SatelliteGuys God
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Posts:
    15,629
    Likes Received:
    337
    The learning remote is the 21.0 IR/UHF, NOT the 20.0 IR only.
     
    #3
  4. n0qcu

    n0qcu Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,496
    Likes Received:
    30
    Really??? Then how was I able to learn codes to my 20.0?
     
    #4
  5. KAB

    KAB SatelliteGuys God
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Posts:
    15,629
    Likes Received:
    337
    Codes yes, not learning, ie, using original component remote (like a BD player remote) to train the 21.0
     
    #5
  6. n0qcu

    n0qcu Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,496
    Likes Received:
    30
    I said LEARN that means using the original remote and teaching the "codes" to the 20.0 NOT punching in a 3 digit number for a device.
     
    #6
  7. hawker152

    hawker152 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Posts:
    357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah. KAB doesn't have his facts straight. Both remotes are learning remotes.
     
    #7
  8. KAB

    KAB SatelliteGuys God
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Posts:
    15,629
    Likes Received:
    337
    Then I've been under the wrong impression for a long time.
     
    #8
  9. MattG@ DISH NETWORK

    MattG@ DISH NETWORK Official DISH Network Support
    DISH DIRT TEAM!

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Posts:
    3,557
    Likes Received:
    12
    Indeed they are. 32.0, 20.0 and 21.0 are the only DISH remotes with this feature. They also have the backup feature. The learning feature would be the best way to get it to work with your home theater.
     
    #9
VigLink badge
Sucuri