About the new satMex8:

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by farwest5050, May 8, 2013.

  1. farwest5050

    farwest5050 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello guys...a hug for everyone. Can somebody tell me if satmex8 is already available to be scanned? I have seen new channels lately. I guess the older satmex5 will be gone away soon. Thank you.
     
    #1
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. pro96

    pro96 SoCal Satelital Loco!
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Posts:
    6,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Havent noticed any difference and supposely it went Live on April 29th

    Posted Using The New SatelliteGuys Reader App!
     
    #2
  3. carlospr43

    carlospr43 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Posts:
    962
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yes , i can say there were going many changes last week. Many new channels, and many others drops their power thus resulting in real hard to get them
     
    #3
  4. Lone Gunman

    Lone Gunman Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    1,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Just scanned in this satellite for FTA only Cband and got 25 more channels and 3 more TPs than the previous scan I did about 6 months ago. So it looks like there more stuff on there now than before.
     
    #4
  5. pro96

    pro96 SoCal Satelital Loco!
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Posts:
    6,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll check it out tomorr on my 6ft dish.
     
    #5
  6. farwest5050

    farwest5050 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you guys. And yes, I have noticed some changes on Satmex5.Some channel have dropped the strength signal but many other have increased it. We hope to get much better service from Satmex8 when they make the final adjustements.
     
    #6
  7. Vondertrenk

    Vondertrenk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Posts:
    246
    Likes Received:
    17
    Hi Lone Gunman
    do you mind sharing the new TPs?


     
    #7
  8. Lone Gunman

    Lone Gunman Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    1,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Hummm, don't think that's possible as I deleted all the old ones then rescanned it so I got no clue as to what's new and what's not. Originally had 35 and now there's 38 so go figure. Old channel list had 61 and now it's 86.

    I don't speak Spanish so I never watch anything on it. I just scanned it, "because it's there"! ;)

    Sorry
     
    #8
  9. pro96

    pro96 SoCal Satelital Loco!
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Posts:
    6,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    You dont need to understand spanish to enjoy the "view" from them channels



    Posted Using The New SatelliteGuys Reader App!
     
    #9
  10. carlospr43

    carlospr43 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Posts:
    962
    Likes Received:
    5
    Reports saids its already Satmex8
     
    #10
  11. blj2

    blj2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    i dont speak french, but i will watch canada.
     
    #11
  12. skysurfer

    skysurfer Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,624
    Likes Received:
    5
    satmex8 is disappointing signal-level wise - about the same as satmex5 Ku-band for me. 6 transponders are now void of data traffic and my best guess is that they changed to South American beams since those transponder frequencies can be north american beamed or south american beamed transponders.

    getting ready to look at the c-band in the next week but I don't expect much difference because a lot of services were moving around in the last 2-3 months so I took that as getting prepared for the transition to satmex8. I don't expect to find much signal strength change on c-band as satmex5 was pretty good on the c-band side.

    Looking at the latest keps, satmex5 has already drifted to its new slot so I hope to see some stuff lit up on that soon unless satmex is just going to incline orbit it and not used it much (a-la the flying trashcan SD2).
     
    #12
  13. Vondertrenk

    Vondertrenk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Posts:
    246
    Likes Received:
    17
    I re-scanned it the last night, total count is about 40 (Fortec prime 6'), a lot of them on the same transponder (16). Few nice channels; english movies and shows with spanish subtitles.
    I will try to re-align my LNB this evening, maybe a fine-tunning will make the difference. Many channels still show some low signal there, I have a new satfinder that is working really good.
     
    #13
  14. Jim S.

    Jim S. SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    4,212
    Likes Received:
    37
    That matches my observation in central Pennsylvania, with the caveat that I haven't had the chance to scan it on a clear dry day yet.

    What slot would that be?
     
    #14
  15. Martyn

    Martyn Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Posts:
    284
    Likes Received:
    13
    #15
  16. pro96

    pro96 SoCal Satelital Loco!
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Posts:
    6,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wont scan till its officially done moving and parked at 116w.

    I mean is not like I have a mototized CBAND setup :what:

    My dish is floor Ground mounted compliments of Fortec Star :D

    Posted Using The New SatelliteGuys Reader App!
     
    #16
  17. pro96

    pro96 SoCal Satelital Loco!
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Posts:
    6,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    #17
  18. carlospr43

    carlospr43 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Posts:
    962
    Likes Received:
    5
    There is a new Spain 24hrs spanish movies @3867V6899, some others were re-located or move to a new freq
     
    #18
  19. Vondertrenk

    Vondertrenk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Posts:
    246
    Likes Received:
    17
    That may be right. I lost from one day to the other the 16 government channels ( those with a lot of movies and shows in english with spanish subtitles), I moved the dish slightly to the east and got them back. I created a new position and called 116-1 W, now i am switching between the old place that I call 116 W and the new one 116-1 W. According to thid eventually all the channels in 116 W will move to 116-1W. Thanks for the information.
     
    #19
  20. farwest5050

    farwest5050 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, yes. I had to move my dish slightly to the east but this action helped some channels and decreased others. I think they are still making some adjustments.
     
    #20

Share This Page

VigLink badge
Sucuri