Welcome to SatelliteGuys!



Get rid of many of these ads when you become a member of SatelliteGuys Today! Membership is fast and FREE! CLICK HERE to sign up now!

Audio Cuts Out

Discussion in 'The DISH Forum' started by geoman55, Dec 13, 2008.

  1. geoman55

    geoman55 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently bought a new 46" Sony KDL46Z4100 HD TV and had DISH network install an HD DVR receiver for it and an SD TV and a separate SD receiver for another SD TV. I don't normally use external speakers. Ever since day one about 4 months ago, the sound goes out for about 30 seconds and then comes back or if I change channels, the new channel will have sound and then I change back to the original channel and it now has sound. This seems to happen only on HD channels and mostly on the Sony HDTV. Also, sometimes, the voice is not in sync with the video on both TVs running off of the HD Tuner. At first, I thought it was the Sony TV so I took it back and got a new one. I changed the HDMI cable between the TV and the tuner and tried different HDMI imputs on the TV. DISH has replaced everything except the newly installed cable (inspected it and said it was OK) and I get a strong signal. DISH has replaced the receiver twice. I am still having the same problem about once or more a day and it is really frustrating. The picture is great but once in awhile, there is also severe pixilation. The last technician who checked it out didn't have an answer other than trying composite cables instead of HDMI cables but I want to use the HDMI cable and feel the sound should work with it. Awhile back, I was watching the CMA show and the sound went out just on that show on all TVs for about 45 minutes. I called the local station to see if the problem was with them but they never called back. Any suggestions?
     
    #1
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. highdefjeff

    highdefjeff PIT MEMBER

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Posts:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Double check your signal strength.

    Audio dropout, pixelation, and timing sync, are all symptoms of low signal strength or too much noise.
     
    #2
  3. geoman55

    geoman55 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    The signal strength is strong. Today, the video and audio were out of sync until I switched channels and switched back. I guess this whole HD technolgy still doesn't have all the bugs out. In the meantime, I'll keep calling them back until they fix the problem or I cancel and try DirecTV.
     
    #3
  4. highdefjeff

    highdefjeff PIT MEMBER

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Posts:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    You are correct about the bugs in digital television. This is still very new technology.

    Please don't think that audio sync and pixilation issues are limited to Dish Network, though. These are common to OTA and Directv, also. Broadcaster problems are not uncommon, either. Last night, PBS was unavailable the couple of times that I checked.

    What is your signal strength when the errors occur? (What satellite & transponder?)

    Is your system properly grounded?
     
    #4
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2008
  5. jeral

    jeral New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problems. My signal strength is good, and the tech who installed it went to great lengths to properly ground it. Still, we have audio dropouts, audio sync problems, and occasional (very brief) video dropouts. When I call Dish, the nice Indian lady says to reboot, which I have done repeatedly with no result. Our software version is L602. This was all just installed in November.
     
    #5
  6. dudeman739

    dudeman739 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    From what I've been reading in here, the problem is with the SOFTWARE on 622/722 HD boxes. My 622 box was working fine up until a few months ago. It looks like this is a situation where some software programmer at Dish Network tried fix some problems in a new software update (L6.14?) and messed up something else. I had an auto mechanic do this with one of my cars one time.

    You cannot get a guy at Dish Network on the phone in Engineering who works on these issues. Maybe they're all out on Xmas vacation. Who knows? Gotta wait til they get back in a few weeks and get around to putting out a version L6.16 probably. This is frustrating to say the least. If this problem continues unto February, I'm just going to cancel Dish Network and switch to DirectTV ... maybe even go back to cable.
     
    #6
  7. whatchel1

    whatchel1 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Posts:
    8,980
    Likes Received:
    11
    What sat receiver?

    What sat. receiver do you have? The S/W version of L602 isn't current. The L615 is current version for the 622 & 722's.
     
    #7

Share This Page