can not get sat 129 to come in.

tpinck

SatelliteGuys Guru
Original poster
Nov 4, 2006
For the past month traveling in Georgia, Alabama, Louisiana, Florida and Mississippi I have not been able to get sat 129 to come in. I get good line of sight and sat 110 and 119 have signal strength above 60, but nothing on sat 129. The first time this happened I gave up and accepted the check switch results of lesser sats. this put 110 on space 1 and 119 on space 3 nothing on space 2 (of the results display). Since then that is all I can get. I have been doing this for the past 8 years and a little over a year on HD and never had so much problems.

Because I don't have the 129 sat I am not even sure what I am missing, it looks like all the shows we normally watch and record are fine. We don't do a lot of sports but do a lot of Discovery, HGTV, History, some SYFY and TNT and of course the NBC, CBS, ABC and FOX so should I really need to worry about sat 129? I thought it was my primary HD sat but that does not seem to be true.

We are thinking about switching to a Hopper would that have any bearing on it.

Nobody seems to want to answer your question. I am not an expert, but it sounds to me like your lnb is picking up the wrong sats. If you have a 3 LNB feedhorn, and you are not getting 129, but get 110 and 119. You probably got the 129 lnb picking up 119. So, you need to move the dish towards 129 a little bit.

Can't hurt. But I wonder if LNB or dish got damaged.

Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys

If I had this problem-I would take the coax off the receiver and run a check switch-then hook it back up and re aim dish and then do a check switch again
FWIW Don
PS if you are doing most of your travelling on the East coast it might be easier to buy a Eastern Arc lnb??