Dish Network satellite dish for FTA?

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by FloridaPhilly, Aug 27, 2012.

  1. FloridaPhilly

    FloridaPhilly Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northwest Florida
    I used to have Dish Network and after I cancelled, I still have the dish mounted, with the wiring to my house. My question is can I use that dish to access FTA?
    I am a TOTAL newbie so please understand I am just beginning to learn about this and know almost nothing at this point. My contract with DirecTV expires in February and I plan to learn all about this FTA and be all set by that time. ANY help will be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks.
     
  2. Anole

    Anole SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11,819
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    L.A., Calif.
    If you scroll down no more than two pages, you should see three threads discussing reuse of old DishNet and DirecTV dishes.
    Give those a read for a start.
    Edit: okay, 4 pages back; one had "SuperDish" in topic, other one had "slimline".

    Then, tell us which dishes exactly you have.
    Some of the larger ones might get you a taste of FTA.
    But the 18" & 20" round ones are for nutjobs to experiment with, not something to encourage a beginner with.
    And as a proud nutjob, I speak from experience. :)


    iPhone 4
     
    #2 Anole, Aug 27, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2012
  3. johann12

    johann12 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Posts:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Yes it is posssible, but remember the bigger the dish the stronger the signal.
    The smaller dishes are designed to receive KU signals.
    I used a new $12 LNBF and I had to extend the LNBF arm to get max signal.
    This dish is stationary and is pointed at 97W, only 1 satellite. This dish would be to small to put on a motor.

    3-16-2012 008.JPG 3-16-2012 009.JPG
    Anole is right about the nutshell dishes.

    I would recommend that you read a lot here to have a basic understanding how things work and how to set things up and ask questions especially before you buy anything.
    Also, you should go to lyngsat,com to see if those channels that are available for KU FTA are for you.

    1/2 year before I canceled dishnetwork I set up an OTA (over the air) regular big outside antenna for local channel, this way I was sure that I have at least TV to watch.
    I set up my PC so I can watch internet TV on my TV, like basic hulu which is free.
    I learned about FTA before I canceled and spend hours reading about it.
    After dish was canceled I played with the dish , dishnetwork left behind.
    At that point I was not really happy with the KU stationary dish, but it gave me addition channels to my OTA.
    So last winter I set up a C band 7 1/2 foot BUD ( big ugly dish ) on a polar mount which gave me even more channels.
    Last week this 7 1/2 foot Bud got replaced with an 10 foot dish.
    This winter or next spring I will be getting a motorized 36-39 Ku dish to complete the setup.
     
  4. Capt G

    Capt G New Member

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    north kingstown RI ,USA 02852
    what receiver would I use once I switch to LNBF signal
     
    #4 Capt G, Mar 4, 2015 at 11:07 AM
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 4, 2015 at 12:42 PM
  5. FaT Air

    FaT Air HOA Free Zone
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    5,295
    Likes Received:
    221
    Location:
    97W 48N
    Amiko HD SE and the Geosatpro mini HD the two that I would steer towards. Maybe the Manhattan 1933 or the Pansat 9500 could be considered. I have the Amiko, nice receiver.
    ""switch to LNBF signal"" Going to replace the DSS lnbf with a "standard" 10750 L.O. unit??
    How wide is your dish? if it's under 30 inches, it won't perform well. I tried with 18 & 20 inch and was disappointed with them(now in scrap pile)
     
  6. A Raine

    A Raine Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Posts:
    1,137
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    North America, CT.
    Welcome to SatGuys, Capt G!

    What size/type dish are you trying to use? The small dishes can be used for FTA if you swap out the LNB, but like Fat Air said above, under 30'' won't typically perform well and probably would be very hard to setup if this is your first time setting up a dish. I have a few small dishes setup here.

    http://www.satelliteguys.us/xen/threads/95w-on-an-18-dish.335399/

    I've added a few more since starting that thread, a couple of Slimline dishes and another 18''X20". If you try using a small dish and can't get it to work, don't let it discourage you away from FTA, just buy or find a bigger dish and it'll be much easier to get working! I wouldn't recommend it if this is your first install, but if you do try a small dish, you're not far from me here and 95W is the easiest for me to lock onto here with the small dishes, that sat would be the one I'd try for first.
     
        
VigLink badge
Sucuri