Does Dish DVR Allow Transfer to PC?

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by netsfan, Jul 6, 2005.

  1. netsfan

    netsfan Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey everyone.

    Does DISH DVR 625 currently allow, or plan to allow, some way to network the device with your home network and transfer recorded shows to PC? Or hook-up of a VCR to the DVR, record old home videos, and transfer to PC for burning to DVD? According to my reading I believe Tivo has something similar, and I was wondering if Dish also does. Or perhaps any other way of achieving this end result (burning either recorded tv shows or old home videos to DVD)?

    This is probably my last question, so thanks in advance for your prompt replies.
     
    #1
  2. kavula

    kavula Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope. More info yet to come from people smarter than I.
     
    #2
  3. CDH

    CDH Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    Likes Received:
    0
    Some people have been using DVD recorders with their 942s, so I imagine this would work with a 625 too. DVD recorders are now pretty cheap, so this may be an option to consider.

    However, to my knowledge Dish does not offer the features offered on the Tivo Series 2 units that allows one to copy programming from the Tivo to a PC and then burn to DVD.

    CDH.
     
    #3
  4. Darkwing Duck

    Darkwing Duck Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Posts:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or you could buy a Video capture card for your computer and just hook it up to your PC and record it, plus it would make it dead easy to remove commericials or hack in things :)
     
    #4
  5. BobMurdoch

    BobMurdoch Playing XBoxOne/Supporter
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Posts:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    15
    Bingo Duck...... That is what I was to suggest. Hook up the composite cables to the composite outs and manually record it via analog. It won't work for HD programming (unless you downrez to SD quality first with the SD button), but it will work this way.

    The much celebrated firewire ports were supposed to enable digital archiving, but support disappeared one day last year for mysterious reasons, rumored to be threats from Hollywood, but not officially stated by E*.
     
    #5
  6. hometheaterman

    hometheaterman Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Posts:
    606
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup I was going to suggest what Duck did. As for hooking up a VCR or similar to the reciever I'm not familar with the 625 but my 721 has front inputs for something similar.
     
    #6
  7. netsfan

    netsfan Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you guys for the suggestions.

    I was trying to stay away from that because the computer is pretty far from the tv, and I didn't want to have to unhook it everytime I wanted to record something. But I guess I could also buy a really long wire! So that's definitely an option.

    So you think a standalone DVD recorder will also work with the 625? Do you know if Dish has any plans to allow the type of wireless transfer to PC that tivo has? It would sure make things easier.

    I am planning on ordering first thing tomorrow morning, and am panicking a little on deciding whether to go with standard or 625 receivers, plus as a past customer I have to make a two year commitment, so I'm scared of making the wrong choice. Any last-minute advice would be sincerely appreciated!
     
    #7
  8. netsfan

    netsfan Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    One last thought - Can someone confirm that the 625 allows viewing and recording of separate programs on 2 different tvs, i.e. 4 programs going on at once? Thanks!!!
     
    #8
  9. Stargazer

    Stargazer Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    15,757
    Likes Received:
    109
    Do the 522 receivers not have the USB 2.0 port but is USB 1.1 instead?
     
    #9
  10. Jared Twomey

    Jared Twomey Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,067
    Likes Received:
    0

    nope, the 625 only has two tuners, so only two programs at once, either watching and recording something different on one tv, or recording two different things on two tv's
     
    #10
  11. partymonkey

    partymonkey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can record or watch live at most two programs at one time. However, you could record 2 live programs and play back two already recorded programs at the same time, so in a sense you have 4 programs.
     
    #11
        
VigLink badge
Sucuri