Getting started with FTA channels (Astra 4A)

vz3013

Original poster
Jul 8, 2023
USA
Hello, I am new to this FTA satellite channel thing, I have been using FTA DTV (A tv-top antenna) for quite a while but when coming to Satellites I have no idea in anything, I have 2 new old stock DISH dishes kit that are in a oval and the spot where the holes are the drilled in the dish makes it stand in a portrait way rather than landscape, I was hoping to be able to receive channels from Astra 4A in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, USA if that isn't possible then I would like to connect to a USA satellite that hopefully has something like FOX or NBC, some of the good channels that you can find on the normal free antenna tv, I would like advise on what I need for this

Wanted to welcome to SatelliteGuys!!! However in bed and it is late here on the East Coast. So, not going to get into details in this post, but plenty of guys here will steer you in the right direction. Until then search and read the many threads already here, to give you an idea.

Reactions: vz3013
Wanted to welcome to SatelliteGuys!!! However in bed and it is late here on the East Coast. So, not going to get into details in this post, but plenty of guys here will steer you in the right direction. Until then search and read the many threads already here, to give you an idea.
Im also going to bed now :oldlaugh going to read when I wake up tomorrow morning

Reactions: KE4EST
Good Morning and lots of coffee!
Check out satbeams.com. It will give you an idea of what you may be able to get.
Couple of things. If you live in Africa, you may be in luck.
FTA satellites do not transmit with as much power as the big guys. So usually a dish of 1 meter, 3 feet diameter. would be your minimum. Not sure of how many are doing it with a smaller dish. But it would probably be like a dog.
"Because they can", you know....
Waiting to see what others have to say when they shake off the cobwebs.

Attachments

• Astra4a.jpg
    Astra4a.jpg