HS17-100 (For those wondering)

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by Scott Greczkowski, Jan 22, 2017.

  1. Blackloz

    BlacklozSatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Posts:
    732
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Minot,ND
    I think I'm going to sit this one out as well. I really enjoy 4K on disc but I'm just not into this new unit. HD up converted to 4K looks great, so I'm going to stick with my HR44/24's.
     
    Jimbo likes this.

  2. cpalmer2k

    cpalmer2kSatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Posts:
    229
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    United States
    I'm looking forward to this development just because of the increase in tuners. 5 just isn't enough anymore, and it is too hard to try to manage recordings when you have to set them across multiple DVRs. I also like the idea of being able to put the main box with my router, etc since all the coax cables terminate there anyway. One major unanswered question is how user friendly this thing is going to be for swap outs, etc. This might mean the end of the order your hardware from a vendor and call to activate it yourself days. Since the current setup requires a PIN from your Genie to add a client unless each HS17 unit has a universal PIN that all clients can use to attach even adding or replacing a client would require a truck roll.
     
  3. K9SAT

    K9SATSatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Posts:
    13,995
    Likes Received:
    277
    Location:
    -.-. .... .. -.-. .- --. ---
    The same way as you do now with an HR54/44/34.
     
  4. rad

    radSupporting Founder
    Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    7,990
    Likes Received:
    328
    Location:
    Austin TX
    I don't understand your issue with the PIN number and clients. With the current HR34/44/54, when you go to an add client on the Genie it generated the PIN code there which you enter on any clients you're adding. All the Genie's doing is making sure that you don't add more clients then what the account had been authorized to have. Where I can see a possible problem is with wireless clients since I'd guess the SSID/Passphrase would be changing since the Genie is what's generating that on it's own, new Genie, new SSID. That means all the C41W's will be looking for the old HS17's SSID and not connecting, forcing the customer to have to reset all those clients.
     
  5. cpalmer2k

    cpalmer2kSatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Posts:
    229
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    United States
    The issue is with the HS17 there is no TV connection. Based on the posted instructions it currently is setup by a special app on the technician handheld. With the HS17 unless they change the pairing system there won't be a way for the end user to pair clients because they can't go to "add client" on the HS17- there is no display. This means truck rolls for everything unless they change the current methods. That was my point
     
  6. rad

    radSupporting Founder
    Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    7,990
    Likes Received:
    328
    Location:
    Austin TX
    Good point, maybe they finally will got a system where they're looking at the account to see what S/N and/or MAC addresses are authorized on the account and you won't need to worry about a PIN?

    That could be a good thing maybe opening up allowing multiple Genie's on an account since right now
    you can game the system on the number of clients you have if you had multiple Genie's.
     
    #166 rad, Feb 17, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2017
  7. comp9

    comp9Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Good Call. Maybe you will activate the mini online and it will store there the amount of SN's you have activated
     
  8. CSM

    CSMSatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Posts:
    332
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Chesterfield, MO
    So has anybody confirmed if you can just have the HS-17 with a new dish and clients only? Or would the HS-17 still require its own dish but you could still have the old dish with the old equipment?
     
  9. mdram

    mdramSatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,949
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Md
    we will not know until its actually released and directv tells us
     
    TermiNader likes this.
  10. comp9

    comp9Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Yeh still wayyyyyy too early... If i had to guess... they be allowed to co exist on a non standard install depending on how many tuners the HS-17 winds up finally using.. But i would say the days of ordering a HS-17 and 5 HR24's may be over
     
  11. mdram

    mdramSatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,949
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Md
    its been over for many due to the $199 cost of each hr24
     
  12. Jimbo

    JimboSatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    55,820
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    That's pretty much a standard rate they've had all along.
     
  13. mdram

    mdramSatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,949
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Md
    prior to the genie, you could get them for free
     
  14. Jimbo

    JimboSatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    55,820
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    You still can if your situation is right .... no telling what that requires though.
     
  15. CSM

    CSMSatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Posts:
    332
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Chesterfield, MO
    With the two model numbers of the HS-17, I guess the 100 is by Technicolor and the 500 is by Humax? If so, could their also be two types of designs for the headless server? Maybe if one is by Technicolor is the one in the photo's were are seeing? On Humax's web site they show a headless server that looks like the HR-54. I know some say that is probably for cable companies because it has a cable modem built into it. However, what if the cable modem is just used for faster and better communications between the headless server and clients, especially using MOCA 2.0? Would that be better being headless but shaped like the HR-54?
     
    amh84 likes this.
  16. CSM

    CSMSatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Posts:
    332
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Chesterfield, MO
    Would their be a point that you couldn't refurbish the HR-24's anymore and they would have to send out Mini's as a replacement? They wouldn't send out HR-22's or HR-23's as HR-24 replacement right? :)
     
  17. Jimbo

    JimboSatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    55,820
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    They should Not send anything older than what you have out .... I have never seen that yet.
    Yes, there Will come a time when they move on from the Hr24s .... it's gonna be awhile UT it will happen eventually.
    However they would have to have something in line to take its place at that time.
    Maybe by then they will give out HR44s ....
     
  18. mdram

    mdramSatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,949
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Md
    a mini is a downgrade from an hr24, it would be an unacceptable replacement imho
     
    Mauiguy likes this.
  19. rad

    radSupporting Founder
    Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    7,990
    Likes Received:
    328
    Location:
    Austin TX
    If based on past experience I wouldn't expect any difference between the -100 and -500 that the customer would see. I would also guess that there is no cable or DSL modem built into the box since DIRECTV usually doesn't include anything more then necessary to provide their service.
     
  20. mdram

    mdramSatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,949
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Md
    if they are really releasing in august, they should be in production now, at least part procurment
     

SatelliteGuys
All Posts / Content © 2003 - 2016 SatelliteGuys.US - All Rights Reserved
Creative Commons License
All Trademarks, Trade names and Registered Trademarks are property of their respective companies.

Sucuri
VigLink badge