Listing of what is on each EHD

Would you like to be able to produce a listing of your EHD contents?

• I’d like to be able to produce a listing of what is on each EHD.

Votes: 37 64.9%
  • I don’t see much value in that.

Votes: 15 26.3%
  • I don’t even bother with EHDs.

Votes: 5 8.8%

• Total voters

navychop

Member of the Month - July 2014!
Original poster
Pub Member / Supporter
Lifetime Supporter
Jul 20, 2005
Northern VA
Is there an automated way to dump a listing of titles (& maybe more) of what is on each EHD to a text file? Something I could maybe import into Excel? The idea being to produce a sorted printed listing. Then I could have a listing for each EHD, or a listing of all content with the EHD upon which each item resides noted.

I'm thinking maybe a directory (LS) of each drive. I have some ancient Unix experience, and some more recent experience with Xandros Business Ver 2, which I still have (now unused). I am willing to get a more modern Linux, especially if it's free. I have so many EHDs now, and no doubt some duplicate recordings. It would be nice to have such a listing, making it easy to find something specific and determine which drive it is on so it can be viewed. No, I don't expect Dish to show the slightest interest in this. Heck they not only won't NAME each EHD, they don't seem to even UNDERSTAND why that would be desirable. A piece of blue tape and a name on an EHD does nothing to pick out which drive is External 1 vs External 2. <rant off>

Any ideas? Anyone done something like this? Does anyone even see any value in this?