OTA channel Frequency

Discussion in 'Digital Over the Air Television Talk By RabbitEars' started by shadowwalker, Jan 8, 2007.

  1. shadowwalker

    shadowwalker Thread Starter Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Posts:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where can I find the actual Frequency of my OTA channels so I can setup an OTA antenna tuner?
     
    #1
  2. Geronimo

    Geronimo Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Posts:
    9,957
    Likes Received:
    36
    go to www.antennaweb.org and type in your location. It will show you the frequencies and locations of all stations digital and analog or just one or the other.
     
    #2
  3. shadowwalker

    shadowwalker Thread Starter Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Posts:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok WRAL in my area is assigned to 53. Thats 53.00MHZ correct
     
    #3
  4. gdarwin

    gdarwin Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    4,021
    Likes Received:
    29
    That is channel 53
     
    #4
  5. danm2z

    danm2z Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    #5
  6. shadowwalker

    shadowwalker Thread Starter Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Posts:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is how it looks in antenna web. the channel is 5.1

    Antenna Call Sign Channel Network City State Orient. Miles
    yellow - uhf WRAL-DT 5.1 CBS RALEIGH NC 55° 36.1

    Frequency
    53
     
    #6
  7. gdarwin

    gdarwin Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    4,021
    Likes Received:
    29
    The tuner will scan in the station on channel 53. When you want to watch you tell the tuner to select 5.1.
     
    #7
  8. Geronimo

    Geronimo Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Posts:
    9,957
    Likes Received:
    36
    It is counterintuitive but that is correct. Once the scan is done you have no reason to recall the actual channekl number---only the channel number "assigned" to it.
     
    #8
  9. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    32,144
    Likes Received:
    640
    This lets the stations that have invested a lot in their number identity, keep it. It also avoids confusion as frequencies are reassigned in the digital conversion process. You can always call up channel 7, just like you always have. You just might also have a 7-2, 7-3 etc.
     
    #9
  10. shadowwalker

    shadowwalker Thread Starter Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Posts:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know the tuner in my TV will pick up on it but I have yagi style antenna with a rotor and I would like to setup my perfect vision digiair meter with the frequency so I can tune the antenna in outside
     
    #10
  11. shadowwalker

    shadowwalker Thread Starter Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Posts:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Found the answer to my question. For those out there who would like to find the actual freq. of the stations transmission use this link http://www.arrl.org/tis/info/catv-ch.html
    Just use the channel assigment given at antenna web and look up the freq. I used the freq. in my digiair and was able to pin point the towers. Thanks for all the advise
     
    #11
        
VigLink badge
Sucuri