Question with switches/splitters etc....

Status
Please reply by conversation.

shultz

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jul 13, 2006
87W 40N
I'm no artist, so after your done laughing at the drawing, help me out.
I have 1 RG6 cable from my 39" dish and 1 ribbon cable off my 8' running into the side of the house into one of the spare bedrooms (now my play room). I want to hookup 3 of my receivers. The Coolsat has nothing but KU sats on it, while the Mercury II has nothing but C-band on it, and the Diamond has both KU and C-band, and i want to hook them all together. Can this be done?? If so, what kind of switches do i need? All power pass? One port pass? If its one port, who gets the power? Or should diplexers be used?? I'm a little confused on this one, so let me know what you guys think.
THANKS

Attachments

• Hookup.jpg
    Hookup.jpg
    58.5 KB · Views: 175
you can add the other side of the satellites into the box. So all 3 boxes could be able to see both C & KU ;)

couple questions though
-are either LNB's duals?
-looks like one of the boxes controls the big dish. Which box controls the C-Band dish?

reason I ask is if they are duals, then just use a multiswitch. If the LNB's are just singles, then you can have polarity clashing between the boxes.

It can be done :)

Maybe we can give better options, once you answer Ice's questions? But, in the meantime, if you have (or get) some dual/twin lnb's (one for the C-Band and one for the ku-Band), you can get a 4x4 (or 5x4) multi-switch and hook the C-Band to one side (one side is normal V & H and the other side is 22KHz V & H) and the ku-Band to the other side. Then it has 4 outputs for up to 4 receivers. And if you have (or you could get) a V-Box to move the dish.
But, if one of those receivers is an analog receiver, the multi-switch won't work with it? Then I would suggest doing this:
Add a receiver