S10 bit the dust?

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by Kraven, Jan 7, 2013.

  1. Kraven

    Kraven Thread Starter SatGuys Resident Bozo
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Posts:
    7,752
    Likes Received:
    456
    Anyone seen this problem? S10 will not power up if its connected to an LNB.

    Disconnected the LNB and the receiver booted, reconnected LNB and receiver shut down. Unplugged LNB, turned receiver on, turned off LNB power via menu, connected LNB feedand put LNB power back on and s10 turned off again.

    Cheers, K

    I have an old craigslist Viewsat receiver I sometimes use for fine tuning (better motor control), but yesterday the receiver was locked despite I using it the day before... go figure.
     
    #1
  2. KE4EST

    KE4EST FTA or Bust
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    16,987
    Likes Received:
    367
    Sounds like you have a short in the coax/connector somewhere....or the LNB has went crazy and is pulling too much current. Do you have a motor in line? or switches? Any of those could have went bad also. Too bad your back-up receiver is not working to double check. Go out and give everything a good visual and also if you have switches and/or a motor in-line bypass all of that temporarily.
     
    #2
  3. xtgold

    xtgold Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    13
    I had a splice in the coax that actually rotted out after 10 years,same symptoms.
    The connector was actually warm when I took it apart and the copper center connector broke off and was stuck in the female end.
     
    #3
  4. FaT Air

    FaT Air HOA Free Zone
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    5,074
    Likes Received:
    137
    Completely disassemble your coax/switch/motor/lnb wiring.
    Add one component at a time, starting at the coax to the receiver and continuing on to the LNBF..
    Check to see if it turns on as each component is added.
    When it doesn't turn on, you've just connected the problem.
    Could also be done in reverse -
    Disconnect LNBF -check.
    Disconnect LNBF Coax from switch/motor/ etc - check
    Continue until it powers up. You've just disconnected the bad item.
     
    #4
  5. Kraven

    Kraven Thread Starter SatGuys Resident Bozo
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Posts:
    7,752
    Likes Received:
    456
    Really weird I thought I had replied to this thread.... old age I guess.

    Yes I did also feel a warm, and very warm, connector when I was slowly unscrewing it from the LNB. The 75ft rg-6 cable came from those ol' DTV install kits circa 1996 and it has seen better days (ice storms, heat waves and squirrels). All attempt to replace the cable this weekend...

    Cheers, K
     
    #5
  6. KE4EST

    KE4EST FTA or Bust
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    16,987
    Likes Received:
    367
    You did it was the other thread you started this morning..:)
     
    #6
  7. gpflepsen

    gpflepsen Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    13
    You could also do a simple resistance check, unhook the cable from each end and test the continuity between the center conductor and the shield. I'm not sure what you'd see on a good cable, but a bad one would be obvious.

    Would a good cable even show a high resistance? I guess it'd depend upon the meter and it's capabilities.
     
    #7
  8. Iceberg

    Iceberg The No Pain Train
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,771
    Likes Received:
    425
    if the ends are the ones that came with it, yeah I'd change the ends out at minimum...but new cables would be better ;)
     
    #8
  9. AcWxRadar

    AcWxRadar SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Posts:
    4,574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kraven,

    When you disconnected the LNBF, did you disconnect the cable from the LNBF itself? Or did you disconnect the cable from the rear of the receiver?

    If you merely disconnected the cable at the receiver, that really doesn't help you "divide and conquer" the problem as does not identify whether the LNBF, the motor, the cable, the connectors or any switches in line are at fault. It could be any one of these. OR it could be none of these are at fault and it could be that the S10 itself cannot handle the total power consumption, so don't rule that out just yet.

    The best practice is to "divide" the circuit and judge the results. For example, disconnect the cable at the motor (the one going to the receiver) and power up the S10. If the S10 won't boot up correctly with just the cable attached and no motor, no LNBF and no switches, then you definitely have a cable or connector problem between the motor and your S10.

    If, however, the S10 boots up fine, then possibly the motor or the LNBF or the switch is at fault, so "divide and conquer" at the next simplest point. Reconnect the cable to the motor and disconnect it at the LNBF. If the S10 boots fine, then you know that the switch, motor and all the cabling and connectors back to the receiver are OK and that leaves the LNBF (and the S10). Although, it does not confirm that the LNBF is bad, it just means that when the entire circuit is together the S10 doesn't like it.

    If you have another LNBF, attach it with all the other components (switch and motor and original cable) and try to power up the S10 (don't install this spare LNBF on the dish, just let it hang for the moment). If the S10 boots up fine, then the original LNBF is most probably defective. However, if the S10 still won't boot up properly, you will have to begin to be suspicious of the power supply within the S10.

    Between the S9 and the S10 receivers, I have been reading and hearing some troubles with a voltage regulator and other components of the power supply. Not sure if one or both of these receivers were being scrutinized on this issue, but it could be a possibility in your case that the combination of the motor, LNBF and any other device have taxed the power supply of the S10 to the point that your S10 finally sat down and cried, so to speak.

    It really does bother me that your Viewsat is now also locked up, since you used it recently and it was fine. That may also be an indication for you to work on. Possible evidence of some problem with the equipment "in the field".

    HTH (Hope That Helps)

    RADAR
     
    #9
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2013
  10. Kraven

    Kraven Thread Starter SatGuys Resident Bozo
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Posts:
    7,752
    Likes Received:
    456
    For the heck of hit I turned the receiver "on" last night to not avail.. so I flipped the rear power switch a few times and she booted. The motor was off by 9 degrees, had to reset it and scanned in 72w to 103w. When she swung back to 72w it was off again by a a few degrees.

    Going to start w/ replacing the ol wiring , then bypass the motor to locate my problem.

    Cheers, K
     
    #10
  11. Kraven

    Kraven Thread Starter SatGuys Resident Bozo
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Posts:
    7,752
    Likes Received:
    456
    And now the damn 50" DLP Toshiba blew. 2013 has sucked so far...
     
    #11
  12. olliec420

    olliec420 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Posts:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is your excuse to get one of those 4k HD sets they're showing at CES hehe
     
    #12
  13. AcWxRadar

    AcWxRadar SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Posts:
    4,574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kraven,

    You are not suffering from a major case of winter-time/dry-air static electrical charge are you? Sounds like you have the Midas Touch and you are ZAPPING everything!
    Seriously, I have this really bad this year. I had to make a little wand wound with anti-static cord (static dissipating string) like a "swagger stick" and carry it around with
    me at all times to bleed off my static charge. At work especially. Recently, I touched a computer monitor and shut it down. It powered up again fine, but I honestly
    zapped it so good that the whole thing went blank and shut down. I rolled a metal cart with rubber wheels from one department at work to another and I happened
    to touch a grounded metal chassis and dang near went into atrial fibrillation! Totally serious! I also got up out of a chair in our office and felt like I was highly charged,
    so I touched my little wand to a metal table and threw sparks like a miniature arc welder! The guy sitting next to me about jumped out of his chair with amazement.
    I bet there were three or four sparks that flew about 1/4" to 1/2" out from the point of contact! It is actually quite painful when I discharge like that without using my
    little wand (when it is directly skin to metal) that I am extremely paranoid about touching anything metal. At work, it is so bad that when people see me without my
    wand, they ask me where it is. If I tell them I forgot it in my car or something, they say "Stay away from ME then!" or "Don't you DARE touch ME!"

    Sincerely, I am totally serious about this and that is why I wonder if you are not experiencing the same problem. I could go to work as an electric fencer! No batteries required!
    But, it doesn't take anywhere near as much static as I have to kill your electronic devices and components. You might want to seriously ponder this anomaly with all your recent bad luck.

    RADAR
     
    #13
  14. Kraven

    Kraven Thread Starter SatGuys Resident Bozo
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Posts:
    7,752
    Likes Received:
    456
    @ ACW: maybe its time for a name change... Electro
     
    #14
  15. FaT Air

    FaT Air HOA Free Zone
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    5,074
    Likes Received:
    137
    I don't vent the clothes dryer outside during winter. & with the mild winter the humidifier doesn't need refilling as often. But I also have one dead tele from having an accidental discharge to it from my finger. (tubes were immune, dang transistors:mad:)
     
    #15
        
VigLink badge
Sucuri