TimeTrax Recast 1.4 - Version Specific Discussion

Status
Not open for further replies.
New User Observations

I'm a new TimeTrax customer. I'm running it with an XMDirect with TOSlink digital output via the powerondude interface.

I'm not a computer newbie by any means and I have plenty of experience with other recording software that captures streaming audio/video.

At first I was a bit disappointed in TimeTrax (I bought it without trying it first) as a number of the features mentioned on the site either didn't work, or didn't work well. Then I spent a lot of time studying the manual and discovered that TimeTrax is far from turnkey software.

For instance, the Song Change Delay is preset to 600ms. I was consistently getting the tail end of the previous song and getting the current song chopped off. When I went to change that setting, I was warned by the program that 600ms was optimal.

Well folks, perhaps on your system and one some other channel. But on a Dual Processor 1Ghz PIII running Windows 2000 with 1GB of ram, and on an Athlon 2600+, 1GB of ram running XP Pro SP2 it looks like 3600 is closer to correct 99% of the time. Yes, I realize that the timings vary by channel, by day, by direction of wind and Elvis sightings but 3 seconds is quite a bit of difference.

I still haven't figured out the Channel Listing. I get the red "Online" indicator, but it only loads 78 channels. I get 1, 31, 61, 6, 92, 95, 104, 105, 112, 115, 123, etc.

The only channels with "album info" are 61,64,92 and 95.

Now 95 and 105 are both "Nashville Christmas"... on the radio itself, it's channel 105 but to get the extra info I have to select channel 95. So am I recording a 64KB online stream or a 168KB satellite feed?

Once I'm done grabbing Christmas music though I'm not sure what use this set up is going to be for me. None of the other music stations that we normally listen to are showing up. Dunno of the radio itself is bad or what.