Total NOOB with an Openbox S10 and questions

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by CacheFreeTV, Mar 5, 2013.

  1. CacheFreeTV

    CacheFreeTV Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, gang. Total noob to FTA, and I have some total noob FTA questions...

    I have an Openbox S10, new and never used, and am planning to get a 3-foot dish later this year, and motorizing it soon after. In the meantime, I have an old DirecTV "slimline" dish, 22x32, that I'd like to play with. The math says it's equivalent to a 27" circular dish. I've mounted a linear LNB on it and would like your opinions on my chances for Galaxy 19 - specifically, The Filipino Channel:

    TFC North America West 18 4399 4400 Tag
    My location: Utah
    Latitude Longitude
    41. -111.

    Any opinions? (The wife will give her blessing to money for a huge dish if I can get it for free!)

    And now, about the Openbox S10... I know there are a few mods I might have to do to it (thanks, Pixl and others!) Thats no biggie, I'm an electronics tech. My question is, what is your preferred firmware for the S10?

    thanks for any help and opinions.
     
    #1
  2. FaT Air

    FaT Air HOA Free Zone
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    4,992
    Likes Received:
    102
    Think many are running this: http://www.satelliteguys.us/downloads.php?do=file&id=296
    So backup your current firmware before loading this.
    I'm using it on my S9 and it's the best so far. (So far??, I'm done trying firmware for two reasons. This one works and don't think there's any ongoing development, from the MFG or third parties)
    Your slimline should get many stations on 97W. I have a commercial 30 inch and it doesn't miss a thing there.
     
    #2
  3. phlatwound

    phlatwound FTA Bumpkin
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    18
    Actually, unless your linear LNBF has a feedhorn that "sees" the whole oval of your Slimline, it probably is closer in equivalence to a 22" (the height of your Slimline) circular dish. Most likely, your LNBF "sees" a circle, not an oval.

    That being said, I also have tested a common linear LNBF on a Slimline, and got all but the weakest tps on 97W...good luck, it's well worth a try.
     
    #3
  4. CacheFreeTV

    CacheFreeTV Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    It was a bear to find, but I located your Slimline thread http://www.satelliteguys.us/showthread.php?t=228019 and it looks do-able.

    I was wondering - do you know where I could find an LNB that could see the whole dish?
     
    #4
  5. CacheFreeTV

    CacheFreeTV Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your help, much appreciated!
     
    #5
VigLink badge
Sucuri