You can use the Locks menu to lock out any channels you don't want to appear on your guide listings.
1. Press the "Menu" button, then select "5" Locks.
2. If system is not locked, the "Locks" submenu appears. Select "2" Channel Locks.
3. Select all the channels you don't want to appear in program guide. I lock out all duplicate channels, PPV, shopping, plus all the channels I am not subscribed to--lockout whatever you never want to see again.
4. After you are done selecting channels to lock out, you need to select "3" Lock System, then enter a 4 digit password twice to lock the system and lockout the channels you selected in the previous step. I use "1234" (easy to remember). If you intend to restrict access from some family members, you will want a 4 digit password that you can remember, but not easily solved by someone else.
If you already have recordings from locked out channels, you will need to enter the password to watch those recordings. Check your timers. Locked out channels will not record. Your searches will be a lot cleaner once you lock out duplicate channels and channels you are not subscribed to.