1 Hopper & 2 Joey or 2 Hopper + 1 Joey Question? Please help!

Zaytron

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Mar 27, 2012
Tucson, AZ
Hi there,
Im new to this, and looking for help/recommendations.
I initially ordered 1 hopper with 2 joeys (installation schedule for 3/31), but read that a few of you prefer the feature of having 2 hopper and 1 joeys instead, and I guess that will give you more turners and space to record.
Im a current customer and they give me all the equipment (1 H and 2 J) and installation for free (with a new 2YR Contract), and wondering if I should take one of the joeys from my order and get a 2nd hopper instead (for +$100 Lease).
I read a few post of customer complains about non been able to connect from Hopper to Hopper.
My currect setup is 3 TV: 1 Living Room, 1 Master Room , 1 Kid Room.
My plan was install the hopper in the living room and the 2 joeys in the other 2 rooms.
If I go with the 2nd Hopper (to the Master room), do I lose any feature(s)?
I'll like to be able playback in my Master Room Hopper any recording from my Living Room Hopper and vice versa, its this possible right now?
And at the same time, will like to be able to playback any recording from any of my Hoppers from the Joeys (Kid Room).
Please help. Thanks!

I would go with 2 Hoppers but it seems that Dish will not allow more Hoppers than Joeys. They may make you get 2 Hoppers and 2 Joeys.

I went with 2 hoppers and 1 joey, install is on 3/31. I left Dish in August 2011 when I moved to a rental. I contacted Dirt and Mike helped get me all set up. My thinking in doing it this way was I would have more tuners if I needed them, more recording space, a backup if 1 hopper went down, and monthly price for a hopper or a joey was the same. Sure I had a little more upfront cost but I think worth it. Only time will tell.