722k Internal drive to external

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by Dave56, Nov 8, 2018.

  1. Dave56

    Dave56 Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Kansas
    Have A 722K that died, hoping the drive is still okay.

    Purchased a new 722, and I have two options that I know of.

    1. Take the old drive and temporarily put it in the new unit and off load everything to the external. then swap them back and off load from the external to the new internal.

    2. The method I'm hoping for. Take the old internal and mount it in an external case and transfer the recent shows into the new unit.

    All of this is based on the premise that the drive is still semi functional enough to off load the shows.
     
  2. the mack

    the mack SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Posts:
    1,189
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    HOCKEYTOWN
    Method 1 may cause the 722k to reformat the drive
    Method 2 may cause the same.
    Good luck as those are your only options other than replace the possibly bad capacitors the existing 722k. There is a thread on capacitor replacement on the site
     
  3. Jim5506

    Jim5506 SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6,322
    Likes Received:
    854
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    Have you contacted Dish to see if they will swap the dead one for a working one?
     
  4. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    6,636
    Likes Received:
    2,636
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    "MAY FORMAT" nothing, "GUARANTEED FORMAT" is the truth. Do the caps replacement repair, as that's your only way to get your recorded programs back.

    It's all encrypted Linux using the keys embedded in the particular receiver. So, the drive can be cloned, BUT, it still can only be used in the original receiver without a reformat.
     
    the mack likes this.
  5. Dave56

    Dave56 Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Kansas
    Already purchased a replacement unit. I've owned my own equipment for as long as possible. I off loaded most of my recordings prior to complete failure. Mrs. procrastinator had a fair amount of recordings she hadn't moved yet, so I have to at least make the attempt.
     
    TheKrell, the mack and charlesrshell like this.
  6. Jim5506

    Jim5506 SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    6,322
    Likes Received:
    854
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    Have you tried to put the hard drive from the failed 722 in the new 722 , it might just work.
     
    TheKrell likes this.
  7. Dave56

    Dave56 Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Kansas
    No joy in Dish Land.

    Tried it in the external first. No drive present. Did a quick and dirty connection in the new unit, acted just like the bad one, constant reboots. Thanks for the help guys, but this one is toast.
     
    charlesrshell and TheKrell like this.
  8. TheKrell

    TheKrell A mighty and noble race originating on Altair IV.
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Posts:
    22,001
    Likes Received:
    13,015
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    I thought those embedded receiver codes went out with the 512...
     
  9. Dave56

    Dave56 Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Kansas
    I'd almost buy the embedded keys, but even as an external it didn't even want to format it. Just no drive recognized. And I put it into the known good external drive case just to make sure I didn't have incompatible hardware.
     
  10. the mack

    the mack SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Posts:
    1,189
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    HOCKEYTOWN
    Got me thinking I should offload my important programs from 722k's as they are 10 years old. I normally dont hoard programs but there is a lot of live music stuff I watch a lot
     
  11. Dave56

    Dave56 Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Kansas
    We don't have a lot, but the post from someone that runs several externals and sorts the content by subject has me thinking also. He did it like concerts on one, 'her' movies on another, real movies for him, etc.

    This was the first time I have backed up my timers to the remote. The first hurdle I had to over come was NOT mentioned in the Dish info anywhere - FRESH BATTERIES! I run my batteries to the point I may have to hold the button a bit to get a response. But when you are in System Wizard mode the remote is constantly active, not a burst mode. My batteries were about a month old, but fresh made all the difference in the world. I still hit the error messages and had to make multiple attempts both in backing up and restoring. But having all my timers there was absolutely a religious experience. To the point I plan on backing up my timers every six months or so just to have a fresh copy.

    If you are having ANY kind of hard drive problem, I recommend a setting I just discovered in setting up the new 722. Record to EHD! I'm not sure I would want it active full time if you watch like I do and record every TV show to skip through the commercials, but when you get to the point of a problem popping up it would be a wonderful band aid until you replace or repair what you have.
     
  12. n0qcu

    n0qcu Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    4,592
    Likes Received:
    994
    Location:
    Earth
    For your info you cannot record directly to the EHD you can only transfer recordings from the internal drive.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  13. Dave56

    Dave56 Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Kansas
    Not so fast. Menu - Preferences - Record Plus - ERD Setup.

    In the main window you have the option to set TV1 and TV2, then a side selection to turn on ERD Recording.

    'If you have an external recording device hooked up to your receiver, you have the option of recording to this device.' It's window #758.

    Sure looks like I can enable recording direct to the ERD to me.
     
  14. TheKrell

    TheKrell A mighty and noble race originating on Altair IV.
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Posts:
    22,001
    Likes Received:
    13,015
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Sorry, but that is not what it appears to be. The ERD is not an EHD, but rather an external recording device such as a VCR or DVD writer. I believe the receivers could control external devices through the IR blaster, if set up that way.
     
    joewhite57 likes this.
  15. joewhite57

    joewhite57 SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Posts:
    129
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Indiana
    That’s what I thought it was for when I had a 722. Sure explains why it didn’t happen. Doh!
     
    TheKrell likes this.
  16. Dave56

    Dave56 Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Kansas
    Man, you gotta love those acronyms. Did some more research, and it enables an output to the RCA / S-Video ports for an External Recording Device. ie. a VCR or something just like you said. Too bad Dish couldn't do the right thing and allow direct to external recording. If you enable it pops up in your timers. Adds Ext. option to the DVR/AutoTune/Reminder options.
     
    joewhite57 and TheKrell like this.
  17. the mack

    the mack SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Posts:
    1,189
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    HOCKEYTOWN
    To the OP, just out of curiosity can you tell us what brand drive failed in your 722k?
    The drives in these receivers seem very durable with what the get put through.
     
  18. Dave56

    Dave56 Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Kansas
    Original drive, Seagate
     
  19. Dave56

    Dave56 Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Kansas
    The only real downer was some of the TV shows we lost. We tend to let a few episodes of each build up and then binge watch them instead of hitting one each as the week goes along. Lost the first eight episodes of Blue Bloods and no way to get them back. It was the next one on the binge list.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...