811 owners with OTA 49% problem read this

Iceman

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Dec 18, 2003
Georgia
I was sick and tired of being sick and tired of the 49% OTA problem with my 811.
I have a 3020 Channel Master antenna that was pulling in my locals with the 811 in the high 80's. The problem was the 811 would suddenly drop signal to 49% and I would lose all picture. For laughs and giggles, I added a 20db gain amp to it just to see if it made any difference. Of course, it did not.
I had read where there is a chip that has something to do with the OTA tuner that is defective. I knew that with my setup, there is no way there could be any reason on why I couldn't keep signal locked other than my suspicions.
I called Dish to do a swap out and was not going to take no for an answer. So after 30 minutes of arguements, they agreed to swap it out.

What do ya know???????? It is the chip! The replacement receiver locks on in the low 90's and does not fall. No 49% problem any more!!!
I noticed that on the back of the replacement receiver, there is a group of numbers that are a few digits off. Could mean something, could mean nothing.

I also noticed that the new one had the dishpro trademark on the front panel, and the old one did not. The old one was from the first shipment of 811's if that helps any of you.

Could it mean that the new 811's have had this chip replaced? I am willing to bet the farm on it.

Just thought this bit of info might be some use to you.

Take care,
Ice

That is indeed good news, especially for you. I wonder if this is going to trigger a lot of requests for replacements and if a future replacement just might be your old 811? That would be a bummer.
I think I'll hold off until the next round or two of software updates to see if I get any improvement. Distance to the towers is a big part of my problem.

Iceman