921 and 'the featureless reciever''...

JasonSyracuse

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Mar 6, 2005
Syracuse, NY
I hooked up my first 921 for a customer today and had this problem:

I ran a check switch, and then the 921 went directly to programming. No software download or anything. I get my programming but when I try to go the guide or record or do anything other than change channels, it says 'The feature is currently being accessed by satellite, please wait a few moments or try again later.' or something like that.

I tried reseting the reciever back to the factory defaults but when I finally left the customer's house at 8pm it still couldn't perform any features.

So, seeing how I have limited experience with the 921's can someone give me a clue. Thanks.

It needs to take a software download.

If it does not take it, switch to PIP mode, then switch tuners and turn PIP off.

The download will take about an hour. (You can see it downloading in the software update section of the menu)

Once it is done, power off the unit via the power button on the front of the unit and it will install. :)

As a technician aren't there people at Dish you can call with problems like this?

You are aware that a new 921 can't take a software download through a DPP44 (with separator)?

I believe with the current software there also may be problems using a DPP44 without a separator (with separate lines).

I was able to get the download off the DPP44 using separate connections to each tuner. But had problems down the road until I picked up a separator for the puppy.